Decadent Turtle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I did an experiment after reading so many "filling not setting" comments: I put it in the refridge for a couple of hours BEFORE pouring into the crust. Surprize! Mine was set so that it was the same thickness as the cream pie filling you buy at a store! I was so creamy and sweet! I actually folded some melted cholocate in the half of the filling, and it was delicious! You just need to make sure you are using a can of SWEETENED CONDENSED MILK, not evaporated milk. I agree with the previous reviewer - I think the people with "filling not setting" made a mistake using evaporated milk. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I made this pie for a 4th of July family reunion of 35 people. Instead of making the crust I got a ready made Oreo pie crust but followed the rest of the directions just like they are shown & it turned out great. I also made a second one & added butterscotch pudding to the cream cheese & sweetened condensed milk mixture that came out well also,The pudding made it very thick but once everything else was on it & chilled for 3 hours .....well both of them within 30 mins. of putting them on the table, were gone & I have requests for more.I wonder if the people that said it wouldn't set, use evaporated milk instead of the sweetened condensed milk? I know that I almost made that mistake. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
Make sure the sweetened condensed milk is made with whole milk. The reicpe does NOT work with lowfat or nonfat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
I made this pie, refrigerated it for 7 hours, and it still didn't get firm. I had to serve it like mushy ice cream, and it was very embarressing for me. I think an ingrediant must be missing. It was almost too sweet too. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2001
I agree with some of the other members' reviews. There's an ingredient missing in the recipe that will serve to bind the cake together. I also had to resort to freezing the cake just so that it would set. Also, I recommend omitting the sugar, since the cookie crust is sweet enough without it. Lastly, there's too much condensed milk called for here, which overpowers the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I have to agree with everyone! This pie never firmed up. I think if someone could figure out how to make this pie firmer it would be pretty good. I did taste the sagging pie and it wasn't bad, but I too was embarrassed and dissappointed. I will admit it was very easy to prepare, but with no satisfaction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
There must be an ingredient missing in this recipe. It never did set up. Great flavor but had to serve it in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
I love sweet stuff, but this was extremely sweet. I made it for a birthday celebration and ended up throwing most of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
Refrigerated overnight at nearly freezing temperature & still did not become firm. Extremely rich & sweet. Left out the sugar for the crust and it was still too sweet to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Pie is exactly as it should be and the filling does set if you follow recipe. I had this at a restaurant in FL and came here to find a recipe like the pie I had! Fantastic!!! Thank you for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lake Martin, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States