Decadent Turtle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
Make sure the sweetened condensed milk is made with whole milk. The reicpe does NOT work with lowfat or nonfat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
This is a VERY rich pie, and it turned out runny after refrigerating overnight. I would suggest freezing it instead of refrigerating it. Also, put the chocolate on first and then the pecans and caramels- it will look nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
Refrigerated overnight at nearly freezing temperature & still did not become firm. Extremely rich & sweet. Left out the sugar for the crust and it was still too sweet to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
I love sweet stuff, but this was extremely sweet. I made it for a birthday celebration and ended up throwing most of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
There must be an ingredient missing in this recipe. It never did set up. Great flavor but had to serve it in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
I made this pie, refrigerated it for 7 hours, and it still didn't get firm. I had to serve it like mushy ice cream, and it was very embarressing for me. I think an ingrediant must be missing. It was almost too sweet too. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2001
I agree with some of the other members' reviews. There's an ingredient missing in the recipe that will serve to bind the cake together. I also had to resort to freezing the cake just so that it would set. Also, I recommend omitting the sugar, since the cookie crust is sweet enough without it. Lastly, there's too much condensed milk called for here, which overpowers the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I thought this pie turned out really well!! I made it the day before it was supposed to be served and it was fine. I got many compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I made this pie for Christmas. I was disappointed that I used so many fairly expensive ingredients and got the results that I did. I wish I had read the other reviews BEFORE I selected to make it! Very disappointed. It never firmed up. A lot of time and effort to get the results I got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I have to agree with everyone! This pie never firmed up. I think if someone could figure out how to make this pie firmer it would be pretty good. I did taste the sagging pie and it wasn't bad, but I too was embarrassed and dissappointed. I will admit it was very easy to prepare, but with no satisfaction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States