Decadent Turtle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I have to agree with the majority here. I made this for our Christmas dinner and made it last night hoping that would make a difference....nothing!! It's not set up...it about ran out of the pie crust. I DID use sweetened condensed milk and not evaporated milk. I will never use this recipe again. I'm embarrassed that I will be serving this pie. This is the first time I have made this kind of pie and this happens!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I did an experiment after reading so many "filling not setting" comments: I put it in the refridge for a couple of hours BEFORE pouring into the crust. Surprize! Mine was set so that it was the same thickness as the cream pie filling you buy at a store! I was so creamy and sweet! I actually folded some melted cholocate in the half of the filling, and it was delicious! You just need to make sure you are using a can of SWEETENED CONDENSED MILK, not evaporated milk. I agree with the previous reviewer - I think the people with "filling not setting" made a mistake using evaporated milk. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I made this pie for a 4th of July family reunion of 35 people. Instead of making the crust I got a ready made Oreo pie crust but followed the rest of the directions just like they are shown & it turned out great. I also made a second one & added butterscotch pudding to the cream cheese & sweetened condensed milk mixture that came out well also,The pudding made it very thick but once everything else was on it & chilled for 3 hours .....well both of them within 30 mins. of putting them on the table, were gone & I have requests for more.I wonder if the people that said it wouldn't set, use evaporated milk instead of the sweetened condensed milk? I know that I almost made that mistake. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This recipe did not work for me. I did everything like the directions, but it would not set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARAMELDIVA1922

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I have to agree with everyone! This pie never firmed up. I think if someone could figure out how to make this pie firmer it would be pretty good. I did taste the sagging pie and it wasn't bad, but I too was embarrassed and dissappointed. I will admit it was very easy to prepare, but with no satisfaction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I made this pie for Christmas. I was disappointed that I used so many fairly expensive ingredients and got the results that I did. I wish I had read the other reviews BEFORE I selected to make it! Very disappointed. It never firmed up. A lot of time and effort to get the results I got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I thought this pie turned out really well!! I made it the day before it was supposed to be served and it was fine. I got many compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2001
I agree with some of the other members' reviews. There's an ingredient missing in the recipe that will serve to bind the cake together. I also had to resort to freezing the cake just so that it would set. Also, I recommend omitting the sugar, since the cookie crust is sweet enough without it. Lastly, there's too much condensed milk called for here, which overpowers the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
I made this pie, refrigerated it for 7 hours, and it still didn't get firm. I had to serve it like mushy ice cream, and it was very embarressing for me. I think an ingrediant must be missing. It was almost too sweet too. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
There must be an ingredient missing in this recipe. It never did set up. Great flavor but had to serve it in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States