Decadent Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These are great! I rolled mine in chocolate sprinkles instead and they were very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
These rum balls are AMAZING! I made them for my family's Christmas party last year and out of the thousands of desserts my cousins brought, these were the first to go! (Figures, who could resist rum right?) Anyway.. like everybody else, I modified this recipe a teensy bit. I added more rum like some of the reviews mentioned and my teaspoon of coffee turned out to be almost a teaspoon and a half. I guess it was too watery though because the mix was so sticky! It was really hard to get them into a circle shape since half of it would stick to my hands. Then I tried rolling them in shredded coconut, powdered sugar, almond slices, and sprinkles and hardly any of them stuck on for longer than a minute. Either way, this recipe definitely deserves 5 stars. Will make again ASAP! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CW1113
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Delicious but after following the recipe exactly I found that the mix was too mushy to roll into balls. I fixed by adding about 10 more crushed wafers and a handful of chopped nuts. I also used Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum. I rolled some in coconut, some in a mixture of the crushed wafer/pecan mix and some in candy cane shaped/flavored sprinkles. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CW1113

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westwood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
No words can describe HOW AMAZING these rum balls are! I made a few changes, since it's very difficult to find wafers in Japanese supermarkets : I simply used 1 box of butter shortbread cookies and a few Sweet Marie cookies. The Sweet Marie cookies gave them a bit of a soft crunch throughout the ball, that went really well with the walnuts. I also added more cocoa powder than recommended ( around 50 grams - rather than 20 grams ), to make it more " chocolatey ". Also, these rum balls are A THOUSAND TIMES BETTER after a few days. The alcohol of the rum is less sharp and it settles in nicely all over the rum balls, thus flavouring it well. These rum balls are definitely a DANGER to keep around the house! So sinfully good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
These were a hit! Fabulous. I did substitute cocoa powder for about 3 baking squares of semi sweet chocolate AND and threw in some more rum, more nuts and a few more wafers!!! A great recipe. I also rolled half in coconut and half in sugar. YUM! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This recipe is a hit (and prone to make you addicted to rumballs). My husband said he didn't care for rumballs. He has changed his mind. Even though I htough my old recipe was good - it turns out there is a big difference with this one and he loved it (and me too). I add twice as much coffee powder. I put some in with the dry mix and then again dissolved in the rum. What is cool about this recipe is that the rumballs taste good at first, but with each day they taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
At first I made exactly as written, but they seemed a little gooey to roll into balls, so I added an additional 10 nilla wafers. They were the perfect texture after that and they taste fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was a grate gift for teachers christmas gifts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovebug
Home Town: Hope, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is the best rum ball recipe I have ever tried. I used International Coffee flavored coffee instead of instant coffee. I divided a third into chai, french vanilla and dark chocolate. I also make mine with a little more rum, as I like mine moister. I then use them as the cores for truffles and dip them in melted white chocolate and sprinkle nutmeg on the top for the chai, milk chocolate with powder sugar for the french vanilla and dark chocolate with cocoa for the dark chocolate. They are absolutley amazing with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
AMAZING! did not use corn syrup (i'm opposed to the stuff) and didn't have to substitute anything, plenty sweet as is. also, used instant espresso for a stronger flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States