Decadent Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is the first time I've made rum balls and this recipe is very easy. Here is my experience: First, I ground up more (about 70-75) vanilla wafers and pecans (heaping cup) than the recipe requested. Then, I mixed in the sugar and cocoa before I added the liquids. In a glass measuring cup, I poured about a 1/3 cup of rum and a heaping teaspoon of espresso powder. I also added a cap-ful of vanilla extract. Next, I placed the stick of salted butter and corn syrup into the same pot to melt together. I felt the corn syrup would combine more smoothly with the dry mixture when melted. I poured the melted butter and corn syrup into the bowl and mixed well. Then, I added the rum mixture and mixed very well again. Because my mixture was wet due to the amount of rum, I placed the bowl into the refrigerator to set up for about 15-20 minutes. I used a 1/4 cup ice cream scoop to mold the mixture into 1 ounce balls. I then rolled them in toasted coconut, powdered sugar and cocoa. The balls absorbed much of the cocoa and powdered sugar so a second rolling right before presenting was necessary. They received good reviews from party goers. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psi1497

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is the best rum ball recipe I have ever tried. I used International Coffee flavored coffee instead of instant coffee. I divided a third into chai, french vanilla and dark chocolate. I also make mine with a little more rum, as I like mine moister. I then use them as the cores for truffles and dip them in melted white chocolate and sprinkle nutmeg on the top for the chai, milk chocolate with powder sugar for the french vanilla and dark chocolate with cocoa for the dark chocolate. They are absolutley amazing with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
No words can describe HOW AMAZING these rum balls are! I made a few changes, since it's very difficult to find wafers in Japanese supermarkets : I simply used 1 box of butter shortbread cookies and a few Sweet Marie cookies. The Sweet Marie cookies gave them a bit of a soft crunch throughout the ball, that went really well with the walnuts. I also added more cocoa powder than recommended ( around 50 grams - rather than 20 grams ), to make it more " chocolatey ". Also, these rum balls are A THOUSAND TIMES BETTER after a few days. The alcohol of the rum is less sharp and it settles in nicely all over the rum balls, thus flavouring it well. These rum balls are definitely a DANGER to keep around the house! So sinfully good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
AMAZING! did not use corn syrup (i'm opposed to the stuff) and didn't have to substitute anything, plenty sweet as is. also, used instant espresso for a stronger flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CW1113
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Delicious but after following the recipe exactly I found that the mix was too mushy to roll into balls. I fixed by adding about 10 more crushed wafers and a handful of chopped nuts. I also used Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum. I rolled some in coconut, some in a mixture of the crushed wafer/pecan mix and some in candy cane shaped/flavored sprinkles. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CW1113

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westwood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
These were a hit! Fabulous. I did substitute cocoa powder for about 3 baking squares of semi sweet chocolate AND and threw in some more rum, more nuts and a few more wafers!!! A great recipe. I also rolled half in coconut and half in sugar. YUM! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Have been making these for the last few Christmases and they get rave reviews, and the fact that they are a quick and easy crowd pleaser during the holidays makes me a happy happy girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These are great! I rolled mine in chocolate sprinkles instead and they were very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was a grate gift for teachers christmas gifts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovebug
Home Town: Hope, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This recipe is very easy to change around. I try crushing different kinds of cookies/nuts to see what different flavors will come out. Also, I use honey instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States