Decadent Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I found these muffins took twice the time to cook and were really rubbery. I don't mind the taste but don't like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Like the other reviewer stated, the muffins were rubbery the day I baked them. However, the next day they were great! I have several people asking for the receipe. This is just one of those receipes that is better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
PLEASE MAKE!!! These are awesome! I made a few adjustments to the recipe though. I use half wheat flour, 1/2 cup less sugar and added chocolate chips. I also used 4 whole eggs(instead of whites) and omitted the water and allspice. Believe me, these turned out really well and several eaters told me they were the "best muffins they'd ever had" wow! I bet a few walnuts would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I made these really small, added a smidge of protein powder and diced dates. They're a great snack for my 18-month-old son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rumba-queen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
The recipe has great flavor, but I didn't follow it by the book. I actually used some of theobromine goddess' suggestions from above in the hopes of avoiding the "rubbery" texture everyone seems to be getting. Rather than using 3 egg whites and 1 whole egg, I used 4 whole eggs. I also eliminated the water from the recipe entirely. Also, instead of raisins, I used dried cherries, cut in half. The muffins came out GREAT. I love that they don't need butter or oil. They're SO MOIST and have that wonderful pumpkin spice flavor. I antisipate making them again and again... they'll be great for the holiday baking season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
As others suggested, I also changed the recipe a bit (used 4 whole eggs, no water, and about 1/2 the sugar - Splenda). I did not have plain yogart, so I used a non-fat peach flavored yogart (about 6 ozs) and just put a little more applesauce in. I also added the chocolate chips, which made this recipe GREAT! The cooking time did seem to take longer than 18 minutes (deepends on how full the muffin cups), but the taste and aroma are worth the wait. I'm still amazed they're so moist and tastey without any butter or oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
They were not exactly what I was looking for. They reminded me more of pumpkin bread, I was hoping that this muffin receipe would be lighter and fluffier. I used four whole eggs and cherry flavored craisins. I do not think that I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I basically cut this recipe in half, using 2 whole eggs instead of whites separated, I used chocolate mousse yogurt cuz that's what I had, and added some chocolate chips (which next time I will leave out b/c I didn't really feel they "went" with the pumpkin muffin flavor). These are great (even with the choco chips!)!! They are dense and moist, more like a pumpkin BREAD but in a muffin cup! Excellent! I will definitely make these again (minus the chips).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
These are the BEST pumpkin muffins! I did do some changes, such as adding about 1/8 cup more applesauce. I also did 1/2 splenda and 1/2 sugar. I did not add any water. Another thing I did was use 4 whole eggs and no nutts. I took these muffins to Thanksgiving dinner with my family and they LOVED them. They were gone by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These muffins were great. I did not find them rubbery at all. I had to replace the vanilla fat free yogurt with blueberry lemon fat free yogurt as that is all I had on hand and they were still delicious. Nice to find a tasty healthy recipe. Thanx so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States