Decadent Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I adjusted the recipe a bit, but was VERY happy with the results. I used 1/2 c. maple syrup and 1/2 c. honey rather than the sugars and then did not add any water. I also substituted whole wheat flour for 1/2 of the white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I really love this recipe, the muffins were moist and very flavorful, they also were really good for several days after they were made, I did try putting chocolate chips in them the second time I made them, but the combination was rather strange. I do not recommend the chips. I also followed the suggestions of other cooks by ommitting the water and using 4 whole eggs rather than whites and a whole egg.I also reduced the sugar to 1 cup. Great recipe overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Yum-O!!! Some of my family doesn't care for raisins, so I dumped in some semi-sweet chocolate chips, & these were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
These muffins taste wonderful-moist, flavorful and considerably lower fat than many muffin recipes. I didn't feel like I was missing anything! Like other reviewers, I used 1/2 wheat flour, reduced white sugar by 1/2 cup, 3 whole eggs and used SPLENDA brown sugar mix for the brown sugar. The SPLENDA brown sugar smells terrible, but tastes great in there. Do yourself a favor and chop walnuts in there too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made these as directed minus the water and they are o.k...kind of a weird texture and a little too sweet for me but I would make again and maybe use less sugar and less pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Definately better the next day. Used one less egg and added a couple of tablespoons water as substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I made this recipe last minute for my daughter's class, since the schools are stressing more healthy foods than the usual cupcakes. I did make a few changes. First, I completely forgot to look at the can of pumpkin I had, and it already had spices in it (Libbys), so I ended up doubling the spices accidently. I also used regular Splenda (not the mix of sugar/Splenda) in the recipe, and had half the eggs be whole eggs, the other half egg whites. Everyone loved the muffins, they came out great, very moist and I couldn't tell I had substituted Splenda for sugar. Since the recipe called for applesauce (I used non-sweetened) and nonfat yogurt, I felt like it was such a healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
These were pretty good. I did make the same substitutions others have suggested--half whole wheat flour, four whole eggs, no water--but they came out well and everyone from my 19-month-old niece to all the adults in our household really liked them. :) I also added more of the spices than is in the recipe. After making 1 dozen muffins, I added chocolate chips to the remaining batter and poured it into a 9x9 pan and baked for about 35 minutes. Voila: pumpkin chocolate chip cake! That was a hit also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I follwed the suggestions and added four whole eggs and omited the water. The muffins stuck so badly to the inside of the paper liner that only half of the muffin came out. They were rubbery and bland. Maybe I will remake them and follow the directions that the original cook submitted and see how they turn out. I will probably even spice it up some. I really dig cooking with pumpkin so I will keep looking or just come up with my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I made some alterations too - some the same: exchange 1 cup of AP flour for wheat flour, left out 1/2 cup sugar, 4 eggs instead of egg whites and extra egg and no water. I also put in 1/4 cup milled flax seed and sprinkled brown sugar on the tops before baking. Excellent breakfast muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States