Decadent Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Amazing muffins!! I made a few small mods but I honestly don't think they affected flavour much. I used Robin Hood Nutri Flour Blend to add some fiber and nutritional value. I use this instead of all-purpose all the time. I only put 1/2 cup of sugar and added 1 cup of splenda as I like my baked goods to have less sugar as well. I also added 2 handfuls of pecans to half the batch, also very tasty. Overall an amazing recipe! I will definitely be making more of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burgeo, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
These are amazing muffins! I did make some very minor changes, but essentially it's the same recipe. I used half wheat flour and half all-purpose flour to up the nutritional value a bit. I also used half white sugar and half brown sugar because I think brown sugar really compliments anything pumpkin. I don't have all the spices on hand, but I do have pumpkin pie spice, so I used 4 tsp of that instead of the other spices. I will absolutely make these again! I especially love them with a little bit of whipped cream on top--heavenly! Thanks for the great recipe! EDIT: I used the water called for and the muffins got gooey after just one day. Still delicious, but way too moist. I will leave the water out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I admit I screwed this one up (I had the oven to 325 instead of 350). I had halved the recipe and once I had already baked them 20 min, they literally took 20 more. Came out rubbery and still undercooked in the inside. Maybe on a different day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ejt1977
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe. I used chocolate chips instead of raisins and made it into a bundt cake. I altered nothing else. I did make a drizzle out of melted Hershey Kisses (Pumpkin Spice & Caramel Apple flavors). My kids ate two slices each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I was pretty skeptical of this recipe, but had half a can of pumpkin and vanilla yogurt that was going to go to waste. I was pleasantly surprised. These were very good. I did (accidentally double the brown sugar) and used 2 whole eggs (halved the recipe). Also, when I opened my applesauce it was moldy, so I used shortening (should have used oil b/c it didn't incorporate well). I'll probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These are super moist for having no shortening. That alone is enough for five stars in my book! They tasted a little salty to me, but that might've been my fault. I subbed a splenda knockoff for the sugar (I don't usually use it, but I had some lying around to use up), did 2 whole eggs, and then 2 T. flax meal + 6 T. water to sub for the remaining eggs. I skipped the water due to others' suggestions and just used 3 heaping t. pumpkin pie spice plus extra cinnamon in place of the spices. I used one c. of whole wheat flour and threw in the end of a bag of choc. chips. I might tweak this around a bit next time - use some honey instead of sugar, halve the salt, but all in all, a KEEPER, and I think the salty was my fault due to my substitutions. These also stuck to my muffin liners horribly. Next time I might just spray the muffin tin and do without the paper liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Leave out the water. Add 3/4 C chopped pecans. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
These were simply heavenly! I didn't change a thing, the muffins turned out superb. Great light fluffy texture, and plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I altered the recipe slightly based on the other reviews I read before I made these. I used 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, and 2 cups white flour. I decreased the white sugar to 1 1/4 cups. I omitted the water. And I used 2 eggs and 1 egg white. My kids went crazy for these and I was happy that they are pretty healthy. They tasted great but stuck to the paper cups pretty badly. That's why I am giving it 4 stars. Next time I am skipping the cups and just greasing the muffin pan. I will also add chopped nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Great recipe. I did make changes as other reviewers mentioned. I used 4 whole eggs, no water. I also made my own changes by using1-1/2 cups of AP flour, 1 cup whle wheat flour, 1 cup oats. Also instead of all the sugar I used only 1 cup honey which I wil reduce even further next time. Everyone loved them for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States