Decadent Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I may make these again, but I wasn't blown away. As with most nonfat baked goods, these muffins are a little bit on the gummy side. But, there are a lot of spices in the recipe, so the flavor is pretty good and it is appropriately sweet (sometimes, nonfat stuff is overly sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
well, I can say I started out as an absent-minded professor when making this recipe. To long to explain, but it was rather funny on my part. Can't say I started out following like a T when I miss-read 2 cups of Pumkpin puree and used 2-15oz cans, with some AR members help, I had to made a 42 serving batch to even out how much pumpkin I put in the wet ingredients...it was pretty much followed. I did use greek yogurt with a little sour cream & a touch of vanilla when I didn't have enough yogurt to finish out the batch and to accomendate proper balance for the amount of batter I actually had to make, to make the recipe completely along the lines. In my mis-adventure and comical foo-barb, it all came together rather lovely. The muffins were thick and moist, and not dry at all. So I had a huge baking adventure. My kids and hubby totally enjoyed. The 42 serving batch made 36 standard cupcake size muffins and 48 mini muffins. I will totally make this again. And why it sat in my recipe box for 4 years is beyond me. But it is a keeper. Next time I repeat next time 2 cups of puree not 2 cans. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Halved the recipe. Only used cinnamon as my spice (2 tsps. total). Replaced the apple sauce with more yogurt; I used peach as that is what I had. Instead of the sugars I used 1/2 cup maple syrup and a little molasses. Used one whole egg. Just realized I forgot the baking powder (doh!) but I felt they rose well. Omitted the water and raisins. Mixed in some leftover streusel ingredients I'd saved in the freezer, 2 tsps. of chia seeds and All-Bran flakes. I baked 6 jumbo muffins at temperature indicated for about 40 minutes (checked after 25 mins.). They're kind a rubber-y and don't really taste pumpkin-y either. We don't really care for them. We ate one with a little butter and it was alright... Will probably eat these with jam or butter, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Holy Hannah - YUMMY! Used whole wheat flour, added raisins and chocolate chips and a wee bit of ground flax. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
These turned out perfect, super moist. I didn't add cloves but replaced it with pumpkin pie spice and added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I already had single servings of yogurt so I used two full servings which is a little more than called for. Same with the pumpkin, just used two whole cans and used an extra tablespoon of applesauce. I also made large muffins so they cooked a little longer. Great low fat and low calorie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I cut this recipe down to twelve servings. I used whole wheat white flour, upped the baking powder to a full teaspoon, used my own homemade pumpkin puree, cut the white sugar down to a quarter cup, I used my own homemade organic applesauce and organic raisins. I soaked the raisins in the water (that I warmed slightly) before adding it to the wet ingredients. This recipe was good and produced a moist muffin. Next time, I might skip the applesauce and add more pumpkin puree. Out of a half recipe, I got 12 muffins and 6 mini-muffins that were a little on the large size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
These are amazing! Utilized some of the advice from previous posters. Used homemade applesauce, ground pecans in the mix, 1/2 wheat flour, and cut the sugar by 1/4 cup for 12. Used 1 egg & 1 egg white. Sprayed muffins cups with Pam & LIGHTLY sprinkled with sugar. They popped right out! Took 24 min. to bake. Moist, flavorful, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Too sweet and not pumkiny enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I also made some changes. I did 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose flour, used 1/2 c. less of the white sugar, I had no allspice so added alittle bit of ginger, I used unsweetened applesauce, omitted the raisins and added a few choco chips to the top. LOVED IT...next time I will use all whole wheat flour to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
the flavor is good but I am not completely sold on the texture. they Are SO moist that the muffin cups barely come off the muffin- and definitely not in one piece! Also- this made more like 30 muffins- I'd recommend making half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniejean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States