Decadent Peanut Butter Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This pie deserves more than five stars. My boyfriend and I found the recipe on a coupon or something at the store last summer and immediately bought all the ingredients and made it that night. It is the best! We make it several times per year. We always used to order peanut butter pie for dessert at restaurants, but don't do it anymore because this recipe is just so much better, not to mention cheaper. I like to use Neufchatel cheese and drizzle the pie crust with the fudge first. French Vanilla Cool Whip is a yummy substitution as well. Edited 5/26/10 to add: we've made this many times over the past few years. My fiance actually proposed to me while we ate this pie together! I know it's just a fluffy recipe with convenience food ingredients, but it will always be special to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Very good dessert! For some reason, I expected it to be lighter, though. I didn't end up adding all the whip cream on top, because it seemed like too much, but next time I would definitely add it all. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Made this pie for Thanksgiving this year and it was a big hit with both my husband, who doesn't like pie, and my daughter, who said that this pie is one of two pies she likes, the other is apple. It is very easy to make. I did add peanut butter cups that I put in the fridge and broke up on top. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I've never been a big peanut butter girl, but I chose this to make for an office Christmas party. I had to make a "test pie" before I would serve it to other people, and it was delicious! I made the second pie for the office, and when I brought it in the next day, I found it had actually gotten BETTER in the refridgerator overnight. I made it again for family Christmas dinner, and my whole family raved about what a great cook I am! This is a keeper! Every time I make it, I always feel the leftovers are the best! It's very rich, though, so only have a little piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I changed this up just a bit. My whipped topping container was kind of small, so I just used the whole shebang in with the peanut butter/cream cheese layer. I then spread the hot fudge topping over the top and sprinkled with chopped peanuts. I made my own chocolate wafer crust. Really awesome pie and super simple. HUGE hit, to say the least. It's super rich so cut small pieces. I was only able to eat two bites, it was really over the top. NOTE: I used reduced fat cream cheese and "free" topping and you totally can't tell. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I HATED this recipe.. I found it and was very excite dto make- But it was more like PB cheesecake then a cream pie and much too heavy.. I followed the recipe to the letter but thought it was going to have more a PB mousse texture then it did..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
i made this last Thanksgiving and my family loved it!! they were all asking me to make it again this year.. i recommend making this pie.. im sure your family will love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
WOW, this is a great pie my family is already asking when im going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerri-Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Way too rich but otherwise restaurant quality (better than Baker's Square PB cup pie!). I used fat free cream cheese & whipped topping to cut back on unnecessary fat. I also used Smucker's special recipe dark chocolate topping instead of hot fudge because it has less fat. I had a 1/16th slice and had trouble finishing it, which is too rich for me. I adore peanut butter but I think that is part of the problem. Next time I would use less peanut butter and more whipped topping to lighten it. Perhaps also a bit more chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was so decadent and delicious! My dad thought it was too rich but he had a HUGE piece. It's meant to be savored and enjoyed like a rich cheesecake. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States