Deb's Scallops Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Here's what I did differently: used bay scallops, did not precook scallops, added 2 minced garlic cloves while melting the butter, omitted old bay seasoning, and broiled a few minutes at the end to brown the Italian-style breadcrumb topping. Husband and I loved it so much we're gonna make it again but with chicken, maybe shrimp. I might use corn starch next time to thicken the sauce just a bit, and I will definitely use fresh spinach. Getting the frozen spinach ready was a pain, and messy! Oh yeah, and finally I'll add sliced mushrooms to make it perrrrfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraPocket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Very good flavor, tasty and creamy. The only thing I thought was that it needs something more, I served it on top of vermicelli which turned it in to a more complete meal, it would probably be good on rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Super easy and incredibly tasty! I used monteray jack cheese instead of the mozzarella since I had it on hand. I also omitted the Old Bay seasoning because I've never enjoyed the flavour. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Very good & easy. Added a tiny bit extra half & half to cream so it would be enough for pasta. Also added some nutmeg to the cream mixture. Used some piave cheese mixed with packaged mozzarella blend. Cooked a bag of spinach. Did not precook scallops (or shrimp) and they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Fabulous! Everyone at the table insisted that I make note of exactly what I did and then share it with them. I had 1½ lbs of nice scallops and that was perfect for 4 people with just a nice Italian bread salad. Unlike others, I feel that boiling the scallops for 2 minutes is important because it reduces the natural saltiness of the scallops and removes excess fishy taste. I also reduced the bay seasoning to 2 teaspoons, used 6 ounces of fresh baby spinach cooked in the cream sauce along with 4 finely chopped green onions and 4 finely chopped brown mushrooms. I also substituted gruyere for the mozza which turned out wonderful. I added about a half teaspoon of garlic powder to the cream sauce and used Italian bread crumbs as others had suggested. I ended up adding about a 1/3 cup of 1% milk to the sauce to thin it a bit and the sauce turned out so good that I will make it the exact same way in the future. This really was one of those recipes that will become permanant in our recipe book of family favorites. I'm looking forward to trying it with different kinds of fish, like shrimp or fresh walleye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dubdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I really love this- it is a regular for me..I sometimes lighten it up(for calories sake)using fat free half and half & a little cornstarch too help thicken..This also works wonderfully with haddock or with chicken breasts( I brown them lightly in a pan first)..We like a lot of sauce to serve over rice so sometimes I double..Yum.. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
oh my goodness this is tasty!! i followed these suggestions 1)no old bay, mozzarella, or pre cooking 3)cooked fresh baby spinach in the sauce 4)added a couple cloves of garlic to the sauce 5)skim milk instead of heavy cream 6)seasoned breadcrumbs. I know that's a lot of changes, but otherwise the recipe was easy and good. I do think I could have used less butter (2 tbsp?) Oh, and I'm still glowing from dinner...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I added a pound of raw, medium sized raw shrimp to the scallops, doubled the sauce and added some sherry to it. WOW! I also took the advice of others and used wilted fresh baby spinach. Rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I used the wrong scallops I got bay not sea scollops and it was still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Grimes
Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Great dish. Followed advise of others and did not boil scallops. I put fresh scallops in bottom of baking dish then topped with Old bay, fresh garlic, fresh baby spinach, some cooked fettuccini then poured the cream sauce over and topped with the cheese. This is a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States