Deb's Scallops Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
A fantastic recipe! Although I am usually critical of reviews by those who changed the recipe, I am now guilty of doing the same. Boiling the scallops in advance is a major mistake. Scallops are incredibly delicate and are ruined by overcooking. Baking the casserole is plenty of time to cook them fully; any additional cooking from boiling will make them tough and less flavorful. In fact, rinsing them first would also be a big mistake, washing away much of the flavor. I also added fresh mushrooms and sherry, although the recipe is delicious and worthy of 5 stars without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was very good and impressive. A great dish for when you need to make a good impression. I did feel like the parmesan sauce was a little bland so I'll add more seasoning the next time I make it. Thanks for sharing such a beautiful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Deb, thank you for a brilliant recipe My husband happened to buy scallops today. I chose this recipe. I did what the other reviewers said by adding a bed of rice and not boil the scallops but cook the casserole longer. As I am typing this message, my husband said he thinks that it is the best scallop meal he has EVER eaten. It was fun and easy to make. Since I did not have Old Bay, I used the powdered Mesquite in place of it. But, I love Old Bay, too. I had asked my husband if we should share the leftovers with our neighbor and he gave a look of horror. He said, "This is one meal I'm not sharing." Thank you again Deb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maywood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This dish was so great and we used what we had. Instead of heavy cream, used half and half, didnt have 2 pounds of scallops or the right amount of cheese. We used fresh spinach instead of frozen and served it with rice and red wine. We will do it again. Great easy dinner after kids are in bed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Outstanding! Use 2x the spinach, nutmeg in the sauce,3/4 cup skim milk and 1/4 cup 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream. Mix the spinach into the sauce and pour over scallops. No need to parboil the scallops, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is totally awesome! My kids wanted a "Seafood Christmas Dinner", so we made about 7 different entrees, this was the absolute favorite by all. I didn't change the recipe at all, it's easy to make and there are no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This was excellent! I also used half and half rather than the cream and doubled the sauce recipe. I used a large cast iron pot, made the sauce and stirred fresh baby spinach into it. Then I threw in the scallops and some shrimp, stirred it up, and used Panko bread crumbs and the Old Bay seasoning. Everyone in the family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene Smith Efthemeou

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Made this for dinner last night and husband said he definitely wanted me to make them again. I made the following changes. Like other reviewers I did not boil the scallops just baked them for 20 min plus broiling. Also added fresh spinach to the cream sauce instead of frozen and for the topping I only used ritz cracker crumbs and garlic powder. These were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I consider myself to be a good cook but unfortunately, I rarely get compliments from hubby. He said this was delicious and one of the best dishes I have ever made. I made this for a special New Year's Eve dinner. So, thanks Ponygirl64! Will make again for sure! Was easy and rich and yummy! The only change I made was to cut back on the Old Bay just because of my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This recipe was so yummy! This is the first thing I have ever reviewed on All recipes but felt compelled to do so based on the ease and taste of this particular one! I didnt cook the scallops prior to baking (baked for 10 min) and broiled for the last 5 minutes. The texture of the scallops were great and the spinach mixture was to die for! My picky 2 year old loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States