Deb's Scallops Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Incredible! I made this for our anniversary dinner- (a pound of sea scallops is outside of my normal dinner price range!) and I added shrimp as others had suggested. Served with rice and a good champagne- perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Fresh spinach added to the cream mixture, while it cooked. This was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Well...this recipe made me a hero at my house :D I made this for my mothers birthday, and she loves seafood so I wanted to make sure I made her the best thing possible. Well, this is it. I did modify it, as per the other reviewers suggestions: used half and half instead of heavy cream, used a pound of scallops and just under a pound of shrimp, didn't pre-boil them but cooked it all for 30 minutes. I added an 8 oz bag of spinach to the cream mixture as it cooked, as well as some garlic. I actually had my wisdom teeth taken out the other day so I was holding a bag of peas to my face and had the brainwave "why don't I add some of these?" so I tossed them on top of the seafood, poured the spinach cream on top and sprinkled some Parmesan, Italian seasoning, basil and a tiny bit of cayenne pepper on top. I didn't bother with any other cheese or the breadcrumbs. I served it with whole wheat fettuccini noodles and it was a home run, in the grandstands, grand slam, world tournament winning meal! We were all freaking out over how good it was. The only thing I might change for next time is to reduce the butter slightly ( I doubled the sauce) but that might have been my fault in the first place since I just eyeballed the butter. Thanks for the smashing recipe to make for my mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
We made this for Valentine's and it was a real hit with both of us! Instead of spinach, I used fresh swiss chard steamed in the microwave till done. Then drained and squeezed it out well. Very delicious, delectable, and delightful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
If you're debating trying this one, quit thinking and start making! Just make it once and it'll quickly become a go to meal in your household. Great! Thank you Deb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
fantastic! one of my favorite scallop dishes to make... ever! whole family enjoys it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
VERY GOOD..I put (1)lb of scallops (1)lb of shrimp,,made and xtra 1/2 of sauce,,would not do that next time do to ,I did not cook seafood ahead,,extra fluid...so next time same amount of seafood with called for sauce,,I steamed fresh spinich in steamer bags(love those)..and added 1tbl,of creamed sherry,,added a pinch of old bay to sauce,,and next time I will back off alittle from a TBL spoon of old bay,alittle much,,very good but strong..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This dish was outstanding. I used 2lbs of scallops and an additional 1/2 recipe of the sauce. I also took the advise of others and used half and half instead of heavy cream , good choice. It was so good, the four of us just about ate ever bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is our favorite scallop recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Great recipe. I made minor changes to make this recipe gluten free. I used cornstarch instead of all purpose flour and gluten free bread crumbs. Other than those changes I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States