Deb's Scallops Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very good with a little tweak. I did as people suggested and did not cook the fish ahead of time (I also added 1/2 lb of shrimp). I added fresh garlic when I was sauteing the butter and added fresh baby spinach with the heavy cream. I baked the dish for 30 min (plus another few minutes for broiling). I also omitted the mozzarella cheese and only put about 1/4 cup of an Italian cheese mix with the 1/8 cup parm cheese & bread crumbs.. Family licked the plates the clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I changed a few things, based upon some of the reviews.. one was not cooking the scallops ahead of time. I also used a combo of mozzarella and provolone for the topping. I did not add the spinach and, instead, served it on the side. I also added a TOUCH of Vermouth and a pinch of thyme. I baked it first and then broiled it for about 6-7 minutes until the top browned and let it sit a good 10 minutes before serving. LOVE THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I use bay scallops and I don't cook it before hand. I follow the basic recipe with a few changes every time. My biggest issue is that the fresh spinach and scallops release a lot of water so the end product separates out. So I just drain it and it's still delicous, just need to figure out a way to stop that from happening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Very good meal but I pre-baked the scallops as one of the reviewers recommended. Came out good. Very quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Threw in some leftover vegetables from the fridge along with the fresh spinach (good suggestion). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I liked this recipe. I also made adjustments: half-and-half instead of cream, fresh spinach, didn't pre-boil the scallops, and skipped the Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Very, very good. We added a crushed, small clove of garlic to the butter and sauteed for a few minutes before adding the flour for the roux. Also added the spinach to the cream sauce and let cook for a couple minutes. Only used about a teaspoon of old bay and a scant 1/4 cup of an 'italian cheese blend' in the topping, mixing together with the bread crumbs and parmesan before sprinkling over the scallops. Baked for 30 minutes and we had a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Added in sliced fresh mushrooms, and used fresh spinach, and didn't use the mozzarella cheese. It made a nice meal just on the stove top without the additional baking, the sauce was great. Served over linguine noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
DEEEEE-LICIOUS! Total hit with hubby. As other reviewers suggested, I did not cook my scallops ahead of time. And I used fresh spinach and upped the amount to a whole bag (12 oz i think). Cooked the spinach in the cream sauce, poured it over the scallops and topped with cheese and breadcrumbs. Next time, I think I'll reduce the amount of breadcrumbs. And I cut the mozzarella cheese out too. Didn't miss it a bit. I baked at 350 for 30 minutes and it was perfect. Though I did need to broil it the last 5 to get the top to brown a bit. Thanks Ponygirl for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States