Deb's Scallops Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I am an experiences cook and I made it exactly as described and it was just not good. Everything in the recipe seems like it would be great when combined, but it just doesn't meld together at all. Maybe if mixed scallops in sauce w/spinach..I'm not sure but this version just lacks flavor and a decent texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This was pretty good. Kids didn't like it at all, which isn't surprising. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was delicious, but I did "tweek" the recipe a bit. I sauteed 2/3 cup vidalia onion in the butter before adding the flour. I also added about 1T. cooking sherry to the sauce before I poured it over the spinach. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
My family loves this. Definitely dinner party worthy. To cut down on the fat I use fat free half-n-half instead of heavy cream and fresh baby spinach is much more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I really like all the ingredients listed in the recipe, and after reading all the rave reviews, I was so looking forward to trying this recipe. My sweetie really loves both scallops and spinach and I had high hopes this would make a special dinner. However, for us,it was a disappointment. It is not a flavor combination that worked well as we felt it was bland and the texture unappealing. It was worth a try though and based on other reviews, I wouldn't discourage anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This recipe was excellent! As suggested by the other reviewers, I did not pre-cook the scallops and I cooked the dish for 30 minutes instead of 15 minutes. I also used 10% cream to make it a lighter version. I did not have Old Bay seasoning, so I used seafood seasoning directly on the scallops and on top of the bread crumbs. Instead of the mozzarella cheese, I used old cheddar chesse. The result was amazing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This is a great recipe! I've been using this site for the past few years, and haven't really found a recipe that really "wow"ed me until Deb's Scallops! I did make them with a bit less fat, by using skim milk in the sauce, instead of heavy cream. Couldn't get any taste from the s/p, so I added Old Bay to sauce too. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This recipe was awesome. I haven’t made scallops before and finally tried with this. I think the next time I will opt not to boil the scallops some ended up a little rubbery. I added more cheese but, only used half and half instead of heavy cream. Also used fresh spinach instead of frozen. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This turned out EXCELLENT! Every other bite, my boyfriend looked up at me, pointed to the scallops with his fork and made "MMMmmmMMMM" sounds. I doubled the sauce, and added 1/2 lb of shrimp to the recipe. Next time I will try serving it over some baked spaghetti squash. Easy to make, and tastes like something that would be served at a restaurant. I give this recipe 6 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States