Deb's Scallops Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I don't know what happened with the sauce, but after I added the 1/2 and 1/2 then the cheese, it turned into a gloppy, pasty, tasteless mess. I cook a LOT and couldn't even rescue this. After deciding weather to try my hand at another sauce or bag it and go to a different recipe, I tossed everything in the trash and did a basic Scampi. In theory, it sounded good (sans mozzerella). In reality, that sauce was going to ruin my scallops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is so good. One warning though. It is very heavy. A little bit on your plate takes you a very long way.. I tripled the recipe and ended up making way to much.. I froze one portion of it that was not baked. GREAT holiday recipe! thanks Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Absolutely loved these. I did use fresh baby spinach, no mozzarella and did not boil the scallops before baking. Wilted the spinach in the sauce and poured over scallops. Very good and will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Very good recipe. I also used fresh spinach and it turned out great. The only drawback was that it was a little salty for my taste. Not sure if the combinations of Old Bay and cheeses contributed to that or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I tweeked this recipe quite a bit to fit our taste so with those modifications I would give it five stars. Otherwise I found it a little bland. I doubled the recipe since we were having guests and added onions and mushrooms (baby portabella's were delicious) to the butter. I also used fresh steamed spinach, added the juice and zest of a lemon, and chopped a handful of parsley as well and a touch of fresh grated nutmeg to the sauce. I didn't have old bay so I used some garlic salt and ground pepper. I didn't precook my scallops and also added raw peeled shrimp and cooked for about 25 minutes in a 13x9 pan. It turned out great, nice crispy topping and good flavor- be careful not to overcook or the seafood will get a little rubbery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Not so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This could be a five star restaurant recipe. My husband asks for it all the time. I serve it with rice and fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I absolutely loved this scallop recipe. I got tired of the typical sauteed with butter and garlic. This was outstanding. I didn't pre boil the scallops as recommended by prior reviewers and did add sauteed onions, mushrooms and garlic. I served it on top of white rice and it was delicious. Thanks Deb for a superb recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Outstanding, followed the recipe exactly and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I got so many yummy sounds from my husband I thought I broke him! He talked about this recipe for days. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States