Deb's General Tso's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
On a whim I decided to try this recipie. We were going to a party and I was asked to bring something a little spicy. The recipe is easy to follow, it's not hard to make... And honestly... the plate sat on the table for no more than five minutes and it was gone. I made a few small changes as I've remade it again and again (I'm not allowed to being anything other than these now). I cube the chicken the night before and let it soak in some hot sauce. When I'm making it, I use the batter exactly as stated in the recipie. And with the sauce? I almost double the chillies. Instead of using a wok and thickening the sauce, I just take the chicken, once it's all cooked and pour the sauce over it, tossing the chicken and the sauce in a bowl until it's well coated and then drain off the liquid keeping as many of the chilies as I can. Set it on a platter and away we go. I've never seen an appetizer go quite as fast as these do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Bravo! Very tasty. Also try with a little orange juice & skip the sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Not very much like any Chinese place around me. The sauce, which I tried 3 times, always turns out very sticky and hardens when it is taken off the heat. Way too much sugar. Maybe cut it down or use corn starch like other recipes call for. The chicken does turn out good though. Right idea but not for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I thought this was good but I had some trouble with it. I always make exactly according to the recipe before tweeking it a bit. As is, the flavor was good - maybe a little too sweet and not enough spicy - but that is an easy fix. I had trouble with the thickening of the sauce. It didn't thicken at all. No matter how long I cooked it it would not thicken until I added a cornstarch/water mixture to it. But then I added too much of the mixture and it only tasted like cornstarch. Not sure what I did wrong but I will definitely try it again and try to figure out how to get the sauce just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mehmet Karaca
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Wow. I did not expect this recipe to turn out this good. Perfect end result despite the fact I substituted bourbon for sherry, regular vinegar for rice vinegar, etc. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This recipe is awesome. Only problem I had is the sauce did not thicken in said time, I kept going much longer, eventually added corn starch slurry to thicken before serving. still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaycie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This recipe is better than I have ever had. I substituted the Sherry for water, because we don't carry it here. It was an awesome recipe and I have made it for friends several times already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEJONES159

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
If you want it like the take out (or like my hometowns take out)...... Use Non-Dried Red Peppers, and make sure you cut em to get the seeds all in your sauce..... Also throw some of the juices from your peppers in everything.... Cut the sugar down a lot.. if you use as much as this recipe calls for you're gonna end up with a caramel mess...when it says thicken up (sauce)... I hear Wait for it to start getting bubbled but too much bubble= hard sugary caramel.. good for coating not so good for wet and saucy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoviceCook21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Ok, this was a confusing outcome for us. If we were thinking of this as General Tsao's chicken, it did not rate that good. As a honey chicken or something, it was pretty good. It is VERY sweet. The General Tsao's we get at the local chinese place just has a hint of sweet, and lots of kick. With this recipe, I personally thought it tastes like pancake syrup. For some reason, my sauce would not thicken up at all. I only used 6 dried peppers, but threw in some pepper flakes, and it was not spicy at all unless you happened to eat part of the chili. I followed the execution to the letter. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States