Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Hi, everyone! Gosh, I haven't checked these reviews for years. I'm so glad to see there are so many people loving this recipe. HEY... be sure to enter this chili in contests at work... it WINS all the time :-) Last Friday I just won 1st place for "Hot"' category, and overall grand champion for receiving the most points from the judges. Now... I have a couple of BIG secrets to share with you about this recipe, that might make it EVEN BETTER. When I entered it online in 2000, the use of brand names weren't allowed, so I'll try to enter them here so you know. The salsa is actually PACE PICANTE SAUCE... Med. or Hot. The chili seasoning I use is Williams Original (not available in all areas), I use one package per 2 lbs of ground beef... sometimes I throw in a little extra from another package. Enjoy! Best regards, Deb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2640 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I wish I could give more than 5 stars to this recipe! The chili I've been making for years is my mom's recipe, and it's really more like a thick spaghetti sauce than a chunky chili. I needed a new recipe for a chili sale at my work, and it needed to taste great. Deb's recipe did not disappoint. I used Pace salsa (I think it's called Chipolte???) with jalapenos for a little extra kick and added a can of Rotel tomatoes and green chilis. Everyone who tried it raved over the great flavor, and a lot of folks asked for the recipe. It had a little bit of a spicy aftertaste, but was mild enough to appeal to all but the pickiest eaters. My husband even asked me to make a batch for him to take to work Superbowl Sunday. I will never go searching for another chili recipe again! Thanks Deb!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
918 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARANICOLE154

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
HELPFUL TIPS: I halved the recipe because it's just for my husband and 2 toddlers (although one eats like a monster!), and we still had leftovers :) Put the normal amount of onion and black pepper. One 10oz. of diced tomatoes w/green chiles and one 14oz of tomato sauce because it needed it. HALF a jar of chunky salsa (although I will do a taste test an hour in to see if I need more), half a jar of each DRAINED kidney bean, and half a can of ranch style chili beans (pinto beans). They are the best beans on earth. Added one can of drained mushrooms and 3/4 a can of drained corn. After I browned 1 lb of meat, I put it in the crock pot for at least 2.5hrs. Grrrreat! We have it at least once every few months for the past several years! Update: I now add things like diced green, yellow and red peppers which really adds to the taste (and gives it color). Season with a few dashes of garlic, oregano, paprika, basil, sugar, and we're talking a real winner! Our family eats it with rice the first night (fri), sat is "let's be lazy day," so we eat it over hot dogs, and sun ...can you say football and fritos and chili over cheese!! We're not obsessed w/this recipe ...really ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
807 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Wow Deb and thanks for the easiest dang chili recipe I ever made - and with all the ingredients already in the house! I used 1 lb. ground chuck and 1 lb. ground turkey and added 1 can of pinto beans to the mix. Made a mistake and used the whole pack of the chili seasoning mix, but it came out tasting great. I recommend using either fresh garlic or garlic powder because the taste to me is the best. The nicest thing was that you could spice the recipe up or down depending on the type of salsa you used. I just browned the meat and onions, and threw everything into the crockpot and forgot about it for 8 hours on low. Came home to yummy smells from the kitchen. Next time I will add green and read bell pepper. Chili cheese fries? You all are killing me! LOL -------------------------------------------------------- I originally wrote this review over 7 years ago, and It is still my go to chili recipe because it is so adaptable. Chili season is approaching and I can't wait to make it again. I wish I could give this 10 stars as it is that good........ BTW, I did have to indulge in those chili cheese fries and they were heavenly - as were the chili dogs and chiliburgers, and mexican omletes. LOL Debzdoo, you are my chili queen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
I made this chili at a recent Chili Cook-off at my church and it won! I was surprised, but then knew I had to write a review and share the news. I made this chili exactly as recipe described. I still have people telling me, weeks later, "I loved your chili!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This chili is wonderful! I was looking for a recipe for chili that would be as good as Wendy's chili, this chili doesn't taste exactly the same, but it is just as good. It is very easy to make, takes very little time to prepare, and it's so super delicious! I did tweak the recipe a bit, I used crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce, and I used more than the recipe called for. I also increased the meat a little and threw in a can of pinto beans in addition to the light and dark kidney beans, and I added a little cayenne pepper to spice it up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHERHIPPO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kellogg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Great recipe and easy. I have also added a little brown sugar and a bottle of beer. I also like spice, so added a dash of cayenne. Then let it simmer for an hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I have stopped experimenting with chili recipes after trying this one, it tastes a lot like wendy's chili, but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
We love this recipe. We make this all the time and we even made a big pot of it for our Super Bowl party. We always use a couple cloves of garlic instead of garlic salt because we don't have any at home. We use between 2-3 tsps of the chili seasoning and serve it with an assortment of toppings: dollop of sour cream, shredded cheese, green onions. Thank you so much for an easy chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Have made this recipe a couple of times and thought it not only easy but very tasty. And, as with any chili recipe, it lends itself to experimentation - or just adjusting to what you know your family will like. What I really have a hard time with is when someone rates a recipe without EVER having tried it - and giving it only one star to boot. If you look at a recipe and know that it has features that you don't like - then go on to the next one. It is completely unfair to give a really poor rating to something that you KNOW you aren't going to like and even more importantly have not even tried. That's mean spirited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States