Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
My family loves this. Sometimes I taste a little too much of the sauce, depending on the brand, so I cut back on it, but only a little bit. We also add extra beans to make it last a little bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
OMG.....just tried this for dinner.....yummy....the best chili I have ever made and the easiest!!! Only change was to use a whole chopped onion.....this will go in my regular rotations. Thank you so much Deb for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Super easy to make and a big hit at a family gathering. People were scraping the bottom of the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is the second time I made this basic chili for a competition and the second time I won. I did make my own customizations to the recipe but I think it would have won anyway without my changes. I added 3 cloves crushed garlic to beef/onion mix. I used diced tomatoes instead of sauce to make a chunky chili. I used 4 cans of the diced tomatoes and 2 cans diced green chilies. I used two cans of pinto beans and 1 can of red kidney beans. I made my own chili mix from a recipe on this site. I added 2-4 T of maple syrup (I don't like sugar) which I think is important to cut the acid flavor in the tomatoes and I used 2 jars of salsa, one mild and one medium. I added salt as needed, and it was needed. This filled my 6 quart crockpot. One hour before the end of cooking time I added three diced bell peppers, one red, one yellow and one orange. This makes it look beautiful and adds that winning touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very easy and very tasty. I put all the ingredients except for the meat and onions into the crock pot. Then, I started cooking the meat and onions. Once they were done, I drained them and added them to the crock pot. Turned out great...there wasn't any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
It's good and super easy. I may add more beans and a little more heat since it's pretty mild. In addition, when I serve it tonight I'll sprinkle raw onions, a little shredded sharp cheddar cheese and some avocado on top to ratch up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I've made this recipe several times and absolutely love it. The only thing I do is add some hot sauce and a little worcestershire sometimes. I make a mean cornbread and serve it with it. This time I'm simmering it in the slow cooker (let's see how it turns out). Of course I browned the meat and all first just want to see if slow cooking increases the flavor more :). Thanks Deb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was okay, but there was no "Wow" factor there for me. The only we changed was using red beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This chili turned out AMAZING!!! Super easy to make and tasted wonderful. I added celery chunks and chick peas to my chili and it was super yummy. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I now add things like diced green, yellow and red peppers which really adds to the taste (and gives it color). Season with a few dashes of garlic, oregano, paprika, basil,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,914) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States