Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful, easy recipe! I had never made a pot of chili in my life, and I made this yesterday for a chili cook off and won first place! The only change I made was to add a can of mild rotel for a little extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Taste just like what my grandma used to make. Made it for a large crowd and I ended up with no leftovers! BTW: I didn't modify a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I made this recipe for a chili cook off at my husbands work and it WON!!! I made it 2 days before the contest because as most of you know chili taste better reheated. I followed the recipe pretty closely. I did use a can of stewed tomatoes because it needed more liquid. I wasn't able to find the chili seasoning that was suggested, I used Lawry's chili seasoning . It was great! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Awesome recipe! Both my husband and I love a good chili and this one certainly fills the bill. Of course, we always tweak to personal preferences...so, being the avid hunter, the freezer is always full of venison. Substituted ground venison for burger, cut out the salt (let user determine personal taste), decreased tomato sauce to 8 oz and used a qt of home canned stewed tomatoes in place of salsa. Also added green pepper and a clove of garlic. The Chili Seasoning Mix II by sal was an excellent seasoning choice as well...please try that recipes (with modifications as well...LOL). Wonderful blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This recipe is OK. Nothing bad about it -- just turns out this is not the way I like my chili. I did stick to the recipe. I like the idea of using salsa and I used one with roasted poblano peppers in it. I may try salsa in my chili again but not this recipe. Everyone has different preferences and chili is a great example of how different our tastes can be regarding a particular dish. I see where someone even likes mushrooms in their chili. :) For me, there was too much tomato sauce and not enough heat. I now know I much prefer tomatoes in my chili and only a little tomato sauce if I use it at all. This Texas cook also likes my chili with a lot more hot chili pepper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Love this recipe and so do all my friends! I just use a whole jar of tomato sauce and a whole jar of salsa instead of measuring them. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Was good. Needed some little tweaks for my taste but all around good stock chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Love this recipe...followed it exactly. It's so easy and so good. I have made it on the stove and in the crockpot. It is delicious either way and is always a huge hit with the family. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was a great basic recipe. Based on other reviews, I made the following changes. I substituted a large can of Muir Glen fire roasted tomatoes for the tomato sauce and a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies for the salsa. I also added a bottle of Fat Tire beer. I used 3 Tablespoons of Chili 3000 from Penzeys and a couple shakes of cayenne pepper. I served it with another recipe from Allrecipes; Grandmothers Buttermilk Cornbread. It was a fabulous meal! Lots of depth of flavor. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I did make 1 change but don't really think it affected the recipe. I used a can of rotel tomatoes instead of salsa because that is what I had on hand. But I must tell you this was by far the best chili I have made. This will be my go to recipe from now on.for me the rotel gave it a little too much kick so I added a little sour cream to mine. next time I will use mild salsa although DH loved it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,925) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States