Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I just found this this morning! We have a family chili cook off, I wasn't going to go until a few hours before it started. Yeppers this recipe came in first place, I was cracking up, it is so easy but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This recipe is ridiculously easy and tasty! I halved the meat using 1 lb ground turkey. Used whole sweet onion chopped. One packet taco seasoning and threw in a can of creamed corn! Wow so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Baldwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Every time I make this recipe people rave. I make a big pot adding 2 big cans tomato sauce, 16 ounces salsa, 2 cans black beans, 2 cans chili beans, 2 cans light red kidney beans, 1 can dark red kidney beans, all untrained. one whole chopped onion. Add a couple more tbsp of chili seasoning for big pot. It freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Ok. When everyone says they used this recipe in a cook off and won, they aren't exaggerating. In a last minute decision to join the cook off, I found this recipe and decided to try it. I've never made chili before, it was simple enough and the best part was it didn't take much time to make. I did however add some minor personality touches. I found the recipe to be too thick (probably because I drained the beans), so i added two beef bouillon cubes and a cup of boiling water. I used fresh garlic, garlic powder and sea salt instead of garlic salt. I also added fresh peppers from my garden to give it that extra kick. Yum! It was a hit and yes, I won the chili cook off! - oh and one word of advise, the most important step is to let it simmer for at least an hour! I tasted it immediately and it tasted like tomato sauce. Against my will, I left it alone and let it just simmer. Then it started tasting like chili. I'm sure those more versed in chili making know this last word of advise. I added for my fellow rookies. Thanks Deb for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Soooo heartwarmingly good and no-brainer easy. I'm done looking for chili recipes... this is IT. No tweaks other than I added a little brown sugar to taste. Debdoozie... thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Deb, I won tonight at our Church chili cook-off! Just wanted to say thanks for posting this very simple and excellent recipe. I modified it just a bit as others have but it was sooooo good I taste tested almost half the initial batch I made yesterday. My modifications were substituted half the ground chuck with ground buffalo and mild sausage. Used a Kroger brand chili mix and used minced garlic instead of garlic salt and subbed ranch beans for the kidney beans. Thanks again, I will be serving this up for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Gurden
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Easy! Delicious! Fast!! This was my first time making chili and now this recipe will become a regular in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Gurden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I was looking for a quick chili recipe that didn't have to simmer all day, and came across this. I think the recipe largely depends on what kind of salsa you use. I used a high quality salsa that was balanced in flavor, and really liked it. I also used homemade chili seasoning instead of a packet. I omitted the garlic salt, since the chili seasoning was salty enough, and used 2 (15 oz) cans of tomato sauce. I also used only 1.3 lbs of ground beef. My whole family really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This chili was the bomb! Super easy to make. I made the recipe exactly as is but added a dash of nutmeg and a teaspoon of brown sugar for fun. I have made other chili recipes from this site. This one was the easiest and tastiest! I made it on a cold, rainy night and served it with shredded cheese, fritos and chopped purple onions. MMMMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Oustanding! I have made this one quite a few times, and it's a breeze. Really good chili. I could see how this would be an award winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucker, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,966) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States