Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I tried this recipe for a pot luck, and got raves about it, not only from the college kids that are happy for any home cooked meal, but also from the experienced troopers. Added a little brown sugar, tweeked the spices for our taste, I also made it well ahead and just let it simmer - probbaly 4 to 5 hours. Great recipe to start with, or adjust to make it you own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
It's a family favorite! The main change I made was to use half ground beef and half beef tips; my family liked it much better that way. If I don't have a jar of salsa on hand, I substitute with 1 can of Rotel with a small can of green chili's (it sometimes saves money too). I start with 3 Tablespoons of Chili Seasoning and add more if needed. I have used it in the crockpot as well as stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I think the bones of this recipe are good. But I think it ended up tasting too much of tomato. I ended up having to add a lot of chili powder, more cumin, some chipotle peppers, and finally a squirt of barbecue sauce for it to tast like chili. But since the outcome was pretty good, I gave this recipe three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
My family loved this recipe. I browned the ground beef and onions in a skillet, then transfered them to my crock pot. I added the rest of the ingredients into the crock pot (I used the Chili Seasoning II recipe on this site) and let it cook all day on low. I served with warm corn bread. The flavor was great, the meat was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This chilli was awesome, I added just a tbsp of sugar at the end to and then added a few 2 tbsp of dried chilli's. Thanks Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpardely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Good, not great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Gave this 5 stars because it tastes good and is VERY easy. It may not be the hotteset, or the most slow cooked, but if you want chili during the week and have kids that can't handle a lot of heat, this one is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Biggie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I use this recipe only now whenever I make chili. I use pinto beans. This is truly an easy and very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gammy Cakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Charleston, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Similar flavor to Wendy's Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watkinsfamilyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Made this adding more tomatoe sauce, and used a medium heat picante salsa. Took it to a local chili cookoff...I was one of 25 contestants and took home a 3rd place ribbon. The proof was a scraped clean crock pot. Deb's recipe is easy and delicious. I used 3/4 tsp of black pepper instead of a whole tsp. The chili seasoning I used is Old Westport.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,924) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States