Death by Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was so easy and so GOOD!! I made it even easier by doing step 3 in the microwave instead of a double boiler--just combine the chocolate and cream and heat at 1-minute intervals, stirring in between, until the chocolate is melted. Also, I made this for Thanksgiving and my mom doesn't like to eat a lot of sugar, so I used unsweetened chocolate (good quality, of course, is key) and Splenda (probably about 1/3 C). It turned out great. Oh, and also I used a regular pastry pie crust instead of the cookie crust. I think it was definitely the way to go. The filling is so rich, I think the cookie crust would have been too much. I think this recipe will become a new holiday tradition. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I made the filling only as a chocolate mousse in wine glasses, topped with whipped cream. It set up beautifully adn everyone loved it, even the kids that had no idea what it was and were very nervous of trying it. I am definitely going to make this again, and will likely try it as a pie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe is so easy and very tasty. I never review recipes, but this has been such a hit with my family and friends, I felt I must share. Every special occassion someone asks me to make this pie. I use ghirardelli chocolate and add just a touch of coffee to the chocolate when melting it. Turns out perfect everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I usually do not rate recipes on this site but I had to for this one. Let me begin by saying that I am not a baker. With this recipe, completed with no changes, it was delicious. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeronicasCreations

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Patchogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Oh my this is so good! I used the food processor method and this went together super fast. I did use chocolate grahams instead of the cookies. Also instead of white sugar I used powdered sugar. It mixes in much better with the heavy cream than regular sugar does. Came out perfect! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Fabulous. A wonderful addition is espresso powder! Add it to the chocolate while melting (I used about a teaspoon)...it adds a little depth of flavor that is amazing to an already great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This was very good. I was thinking it may be a "chocolate overload", given the name of the recipe. It's really just an egg-less, whipped chocolate cream pie. For me, it didn't have the density of a mousse, even after refrigerating overnight. I did follow the recipe exactly, and used high quality (Ghirardelli) chocolate chips. Very good, but not overly rich, if that's what you're looking for. It was easy, so I'd make it again if I needed a chocolate desert in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Delicious and decadent.......I just made the mousse and placed it in martini glasses.....added some strawberries and the whipped cream. Elegant presentation and divine taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
The flavor was good, but to say this is rich is an understatement. You might as well eat a stick of butter. It actually made me feel sick, and I don't really have problems with food. I'd say either have a very tiny piece and walk away, or there are plenty of other recipes that can deliver flavor and texture without this nauseating level of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crissy Nour
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
AMAZING! Instead of the Oreo crust, I took my favorite chocolate cake recipe, divided it into thirds, and baked in a 9-in round pan, which I cooled and put in the bottom of the springform pan. My guests couldn't have eaten more than 1/12 of the cake/mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crissy Nour

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States