Death by Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
My daughter has made this a few times, and we all totally enjoy it. One of the best "fattening" desserts I have had in a long time. Worth every calorie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Totally awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatlesFan1964

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
So simple, quick & delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Followed the recipe exactly. Perfect. Always a huge hit at parties!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This was very good. I was thinking it may be a "chocolate overload", given the name of the recipe. It's really just an egg-less, whipped chocolate cream pie. For me, it didn't have the density of a mousse, even after refrigerating overnight. I did follow the recipe exactly, and used high quality (Ghirardelli) chocolate chips. Very good, but not overly rich, if that's what you're looking for. It was easy, so I'd make it again if I needed a chocolate desert in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I did the option with mixing by food processor and this recipe was so EASY and it is so GOOD!!! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was so easy and so GOOD!! I made it even easier by doing step 3 in the microwave instead of a double boiler--just combine the chocolate and cream and heat at 1-minute intervals, stirring in between, until the chocolate is melted. Also, I made this for Thanksgiving and my mom doesn't like to eat a lot of sugar, so I used unsweetened chocolate (good quality, of course, is key) and Splenda (probably about 1/3 C). It turned out great. Oh, and also I used a regular pastry pie crust instead of the cookie crust. I think it was definitely the way to go. The filling is so rich, I think the cookie crust would have been too much. I think this recipe will become a new holiday tradition. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I made the filling only as a chocolate mousse in wine glasses, topped with whipped cream. It set up beautifully adn everyone loved it, even the kids that had no idea what it was and were very nervous of trying it. I am definitely going to make this again, and will likely try it as a pie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is incredibly good! It's rich, but I really didn't think it was overwhelmingly so. I had oohs and ahhhs when I served it to family members at our father's day parties (on two different occassions). I did the recipe exactly as written, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This was a very quick, easy reciepe. Perfect dessert for guest because of the short time it took to make and the taste was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States