Death by Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
TEN STARS ********** OK, seriously the most amazing home made choc mousse EVER. I made it for Thanksgiving and instead of a regular pie I made mini pies in mason jars. For the crust I just put some Oreo cookie crumbs at the bottom of the jar and filled the jar with the mousse. I let them sit overnight and they were PERFECT the next day (they were also amazing 3 days later). I did add a little Starbucks Via powder (Christmas Blend) to the chocolate as it was melting....that is the only change I made. D E L I S H and so easy. OH, and I used the double boiler method with simmering water in a pot and a glass bowl on top (don't let the water touch the bowl, the bowl must sit an inch or so above the water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jokenaround2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My husband made a request that I make chocolate mousse sometime in the week, so this is the recipe I came across. And oh my gosh...he loved it! It was so easy but really rich and airy. I made it exactly as the recipe indicated, with no changes and it was fantastic. I used Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate, since it has such a different (and better) flavor than Nestle morsels, so I would suggest that. I may add a tablespoon or two of espresso the next time I make it, but just for experimentation's sake. The recipe is great just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henryetta, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
VERY good.. but VERY rich.. so if you dont mind dying of chocolate its perfect! If you have to go, what a way to do it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Amazing chocolate mousse recipe. The only change I made to the recipe was that I also added espresso powder as other reviewers suggested. The mousse has such a wonderful texture, it is so rich and decadent. I have tried many other mousse recipes, and this is the most delicious recipe I have found. Thanks so much for the recipe. This will certainly be on the desert menu on Christmas this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Cornely

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I wanted to make a mousse that didn't take forever and use egg whites and gelatin ... (I know that sounds lazy ...) but this was just perfect and everyone loved it. Wonderful, easy and tasty recipe! :) I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! It is now one of my go-to recipes for chocolate lovers. Have been making it for several years now. Even better, it's SO easy! I have even used this to layer in between chocolate cake for an even chocolatier dessert. Yum! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
The crowd favorite! So easy to make, yet so delicious. I added about 1/4 cup of espresso to the chocolate while it was melting to give it that extra "punch." This will definitely remain in my top 5 "Go-To Desserts" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
THIS IS FANTASTIC! So simple to make, but its such a delicious and impressive dish. I also heated the choclate chips and cream together in 30 second intervals in the microwave making sure to stir after each round. I prefer 30 second intervals because you want to melt the chocolate slowly...once its scorched then the chocolate is ruined. The second time I made it I added some fresh sliced strawberries onto the piped whipped cream. It made such a beautiful disdplay and added a little somethimg to the pallet to balance the cholcoate (dont get me wrong I loooove chocolate). Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I mixed things up a bit....I didn't bake the cookie crust because my original recipe doesn't call for it to be baked. I used the food processor method but microwaved the cream until it almost came to a boil...I didn't add the additional sugar because my original recipe didn't call for it and I put it into the freezer for 3 hours and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This easy recipe worked very well for me - I wanted an egg-free mousse to pipe into dessert shot glasses for a wedding reception. 3 batches of this yielded enough for 150 3-oz shot glasses... a lovely presentation when topped with whipped cream and garnished with mini chocolate beads! What a hit! Since I had extra chocolate/cream, I made a pie to take to dinner with the fam. Unfortunately it only got to sit for 4 hours--I think it could've used the extra 2 hours and it would've set up even better. BUT it tasted darn good! I used a graham cracker crust, since it's what I had on hand, baking for about 10 minutes. A perfect go-to recipe for egg-free chocolate mousse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States