Death By Chocolate III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I have made this recipe for special occasions at home and for potlucks. Almost everyone who tastes it wants the recipe. It is really to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I brought this to work and it took a mere hour before I could see the very bottom of my large dish. It was excellent! My second helping (which was as suggested better after being refrigerated overnight) I topped with chocolate syrup, which was a fabulous addition. The only thing I could think of that I would want to change is the consistency of the dish. It tasted good, but I did not like the way it slopped on the plate. I think next time I'm going to try to freeze it like an ice cream treat to see if it's even better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
One of my family's favorite desserts! I have given this recipe to many, many people. The only change I made was to use a bag of Heath toffee bits instead of the candy bars. It is much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Fantastic! was really rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelfadedblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Very simple concept, but very good! My husband wanted me to make this for his mom's birthday, and it was very well received! Everyone had extras. I made it right before dinner because of previous people's comments about it becoming soggy. However, we ate the leftovers the next day, and didn't find it too soggy at all. I think I even liked it better the second day with the pudding and whipped topping soaked into the brownie. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I have had this recipe prepared two ways -- with brownie, and with (leftover) chocolate cake, and it's great both ways! This is totally kid-friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This seemed a little thin on the brownies. I think it needs more/thicker brownie layer. More like two boxes of brownies. Or make sure that your trifle bowl is on the smaller side instead of large, like mine. I tried the new cook and serve pudding that is fat free and sugar free, thinking it would have a richer pudding flavor, but I didn't notice it as anything better. I added some dark chocolate syrup to the brownie layer and used real whipped cream instead of Cool Whip. I topped the top layer with a dusting of cocoa powder and toasted sliced almonds. This looks pretty layered in the trifle bowl, but when you go to serve it, it is not so great looking. It looks like a big sloppy brown and white blob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was awesome! I am not a big chocolate fan and I can't stop eating the leftovers. This has been my biggest dessert hit yet. It was so easy to make, too. I used the Pillsbury Milk Chocolate Brownie mix which was highly recommended because of it's very soft chocolaty texture. For chocolate toffee bars I used Heath bars. YUMMY! Will make this dessert every-time for a function now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This recipe was amazing!!!!! The only changes I made was to use low fat brownies and sugar-free pudding and frozen topping. Just made it a little more figure friendly, but didn't change how it tastes at all!! My family absolutely loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Made this for our neighbors and they enjoyed it. Used Heath bars, M&Ms and Reese's peanut butter cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States