Death by Chocolate and Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
After looking over the recipe and before I even read the reviews I knew that just plopping caramels on the batter would be a concern. Having said that, I made these with a couple of easy and minor changes--melt the caramels with 1/3 c. evaporated milk or half and half, stirring frequently. Keep warm. Place half of the batter into the pan and bake about 5 minutes, then let cool a couple of minutes. Dribble the melted caramel over the top, then sprinkle with 1 cup of chocolate chips (I also added a half cup off chopped nuts). Drop the remaining batter all over surface, spreading together carefully with a spatula. Return to oven and bake 18-20 minutes. With this method I had a delicious, fudgey brownie, with a perfectly gooey and soft caramel center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Oooh-this is decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
Instead of using the whole chocolate bar, you should break it up into little pieces then they will not sink to the bottom of the pan, and stick. I also had a problem with the carmel sinking, it would work better if you melted it then poured it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Oh My!!! This was soooo good! Very rich and gooey. I used a fudge brownie mix. Poured 1/2 in the pan, topped with 1 jar of Caramel Ice Cream topping (no problem with caramel melting, being too chewy, etc...), srinkled a couple of large handfuls of semi sweet chocolate chips, and then the rest of the brownie mixture. Baked until set and then drizzled more caramel sauce on top before serving. It was great and all 10 people loved it! We will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This is a really rich treat! I made this for my caramel-crazed boyfriend and he really liked this dessert. The brownie baked up perfectly and the chocolate bars melted wonderfully. If I make this again, the only change I will make is to melt the caramels down before pouring them over the chocolate bars since they did not melt down during baking, but instead maintained their cube shape. Melting the caramel down will allow it to be more evenly distributed. Also, I only had room in my 13x9 pan for 6 chocolate bars, even though the recipe calls for 8. I used plain Hershey bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
These did not turn out as well as I expected. The caramel needed to be cut with milk or something similar. I was expecting gooey caramel, but the caramel basically ends up harder than its original state. Some people might like that, though. Way too chewy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This recipe was GREAT and easy to make! I modified it a bit by using chocolate chips instead of candy bars and melted the caramel with 2/3 c. evaporated milk over the stove and then pouring the caramel mixture over the chocolate chips and first layer of brownies. I also added miniature marshmallows over the carmel and then topped off with the remaining brownie mix. It was REALLY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was awesome; as a hint for the caramel - I used the "rolled caramel" circles that are used to do caramel covered apples with; that worked great and I broke it up so it's not so chewy. Also, I used a brownie mix that had peanut butter cups in it.....Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
How can you go wrong with delicious chocolate brownies? We keep kosher and I had a hard time finding kosher caramels, so I used Rolos. Cutting them prior to putting them on would have perfected the brownies, but they were quite delicious. And, my 3 year old enjoyed helping prepare the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
ITs sinful, perfect chocolate and caramel lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States