Death by Chocolate and Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
this recipe is AMAZING. especially if you use caramilk bars instead of the seperate hershey's and caramels. [caramilk bars are chocolate bars with caramel inside]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kARli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Oh my gosh...my two favorite foods caramel and chocolate all in one deadly sensation of goodness. Half the pan was gone as soon as they cooled, we love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Stantonsburg, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
After looking over the recipe and before I even read the reviews I knew that just plopping caramels on the batter would be a concern. Having said that, I made these with a couple of easy and minor changes--melt the caramels with 1/3 c. evaporated milk or half and half, stirring frequently. Keep warm. Place half of the batter into the pan and bake about 5 minutes, then let cool a couple of minutes. Dribble the melted caramel over the top, then sprinkle with 1 cup of chocolate chips (I also added a half cup off chopped nuts). Drop the remaining batter all over surface, spreading together carefully with a spatula. Return to oven and bake 18-20 minutes. With this method I had a delicious, fudgey brownie, with a perfectly gooey and soft caramel center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I made this recipe as listed. It is the best brownie my family has ever had. I may try it next time with my homemade caramel recipe. These brownies are definitely better warm as the caramels become super chewy again once cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This recipe was GREAT and easy to make! I modified it a bit by using chocolate chips instead of candy bars and melted the caramel with 2/3 c. evaporated milk over the stove and then pouring the caramel mixture over the chocolate chips and first layer of brownies. I also added miniature marshmallows over the carmel and then topped off with the remaining brownie mix. It was REALLY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was awesome; as a hint for the caramel - I used the "rolled caramel" circles that are used to do caramel covered apples with; that worked great and I broke it up so it's not so chewy. Also, I used a brownie mix that had peanut butter cups in it.....Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I thought it tasted great and so did others. The caramel was a bit too chewy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
These did not turn out as well as I expected. The caramel needed to be cut with milk or something similar. I was expecting gooey caramel, but the caramel basically ends up harder than its original state. Some people might like that, though. Way too chewy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
How can you go wrong with delicious chocolate brownies? We keep kosher and I had a hard time finding kosher caramels, so I used Rolos. Cutting them prior to putting them on would have perfected the brownies, but they were quite delicious. And, my 3 year old enjoyed helping prepare the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I'm lovin it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States