Death by Chocolate and Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Caramel pieces were too hard and chewy, stayed in the same shape. The brownies took much longer to cook than 20-25 minutes. Almost impossible to eat or cut without heating up the brownies up. Will melt the caramel and pour over chocolate pieces next time. Also, instead of candy bars, I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of candy bars, which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I wasn't too impressed with this recipe. It tasted good, but it was a big mess and difficult to eat. I would make again, but only with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Delish and rich! Instead of a chocolate bar I used chocolate chips because it was all I had. As for the caramel, I used caramel ice cream topping. The brownies turned out so chewy and gooey, and rich! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
These brownies came out really fudgy and rich, but the caramel was a little chewy for my liking. I followed the advice to melt the caramels for easy distribution, but didn't have any half and half or evaporated milk. I will try these again with that modification. I also only used about 10 oz of caramel and 4 hershey's bars. I can see how chocolate chips could be easier than breaking up the bars into pieces, but the sweet milk chocolate really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
These are such good brownies. I seldom have any kind of mix in the house so I used the recipe One Bowl Brownies by Jody Shannon. Her recipe calls for a cup of walnuts. Instead I added a cup of lightly chopped pecans, then a half of cup over the caramel before pouring the top batter on. I thought this would make a good turtle brownie. I also melted the caramels like naples34102 suggested. They are a delicious pan of chocolate sin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pauls Valley, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Prep is very easy. I used box brownie mix, poured 1/2 in pan, poured a jar of caramel topping over mix, sprinkled 1/2 bag choc chips on top of caramel and put remaining brownie mix on top. Baked 30 mins. The flavor is great, however, my only complaint, they are extremely gooey so very hard to remove from the pan and even harder to send as a treat in a bag lunch. Next time, I'll put all the brownie mix in first, then top it with the caramel & choc chips. I think this may help so the gooey isn't all at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Oh My!!! This was soooo good! Very rich and gooey. I used a fudge brownie mix. Poured 1/2 in the pan, topped with 1 jar of Caramel Ice Cream topping (no problem with caramel melting, being too chewy, etc...), srinkled a couple of large handfuls of semi sweet chocolate chips, and then the rest of the brownie mixture. Baked until set and then drizzled more caramel sauce on top before serving. It was great and all 10 people loved it! We will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Ginther Brauns
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My family loved these brownies. I used 1 bag of milk chocolate chips instead of the candy bars, and then I did add 2/3 cup of evaporated milk to the caramel when I melted it. I also added pecans on top of the caramel. They were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
caramels did not melt - taste was great but I wouldn't make these again without melting caramels and pouring on rather than placing whole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States