Dead Man's Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great taste!! I took toasted sesame seeds and soaked them in a bottle of black food coloring and some port wine. They came out almost greenish black, it was absolutely amazing. I also made the recipe into 2 balls and put plain toasted sesame seeds on one so it looked very interesting on the platter with a white one and a black one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JasBradley
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Wow, this is an excellent recipe for any time of year! I used poppy seeds and served with water crackers and black grapes for our Halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was great! I omitted the hot mustard and the chipotle hot sauce and added additional horseradish and an extra garlic clove, but other than that, I stuck to the recipe. I used a Tawny Port, since the recipe didn't specify, but I think a Ruby would work just as well. It was a snap to put together in the processor. Rolling the ball in the sesame seeds was kind of messy, but a 1/2 cup was plenty to cover. Took it to work for our Halloween potluck, serving it with those 1/2 pretzel/1/2 Ritz crackers, and it was a big success. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is a yummy appitizer in an awesome presentation. A few additions I made were (1) dropping a few drops of green food coloring into the food processed. (2) Throwing a few plastic bugs/snakes that I found in the toy box into the dishwasher and them positioning them around/ on the cheese ball. I even won 1st place at a Halloween party last year! Thanks for your awesome recipe and great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was a big hit at a party. I couldn't get the black sesame seeds to cover the whole ball. But be warned, it makes alot! Next time I will make 3 or 4 smaller balls. Very strong taste, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Five stars for inspiration, even though I'm likely to change a few things if I make it again. First, I would definitely use the sharp cheddar (I used mild), and less horseradish. I left out the hot sauce, and would not include it, although I *would* put something in to enhance the flavor, especially if cutting back on the horseradish--maybe white pepper? As far as everything sticking together, mine worked just fine. Maybe the type of cheese or temperature has something to do with it; I think turning it into a dip is a good option if needed. Finally, I suggest putting half the sesame seeds in a bowl that's slightly larger than the ball of cheese and rolling it around in the bowl while sprinkling the rest over top. I used a plate kind-of in this fashion and they coated pretty well. If anyone has ideas for getting a more prominent 'port' flavor, that'd be great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Simpler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Great recipe for a cheese ball. Be creative I sculpted mine into a rat and used the left over port to create a simple raspberry port sauce.. I uploaded the pic! It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murray
Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Was unable to get mine to form into a ball, it was just a gooey mess. So instead I turned it into a dip, covering the bottom of the dish with the sesame seeds and the top. I also substituted habanero hot sauce for the chipotle, giving it a slightly hotter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I like the idea of the cheese ball being black, but that could be done with any good cheese ball recipe. The problem is that this cheeseball just didn't taste very good. It was very boring and bland. I had to add a lot more to it to give it even a little kick of flavor. It works well as a starting point and I had no trouble molding it as someone else noted. I would recommend this as a base but expect to need to play around with some other additions if you want any flavor interest at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyh1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
It turned out too runny and couldn't be made into a ball! Sour cream or cream cheese? I'm thinking it should have been cream cheese............................will try to thicken it up today (after the party) with more cheddar and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States