DB's Seven Pepper Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I soak my beef tips in liquid smoke. I also have used sausage, ground turkey and ground beef. Its been great each time. I also have used very lean groun beef because I dont like to drain after I add all the spices. Its hard to find all the peppers in this part of the country. This is a huge staple on my menue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
i took forth in a chilli cook off at the american legion but i had the most first place votes i had a hard time finding the peppers but it was great and i used pork tendor loin instead of the beef tip the only complant i heard was to much bbq sauce so maybe a half bottle next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Union Springs, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good chili, however I had to make a few adjustments based upon pepper availability. I used cayenne powder instead of fresh cayenne; deleted pequin chile pepper and added instead part of a poblano pepper and about 6 chiltepin peppers (a very hot little pepper). The chiltepin peppers grow wild in my area of Texas. I also deleted the white onion mentioned and used instead some wild white onions that grow here (they're hotter). I used Stubb's Spicy BBQ Sauce for the sauce mentioned in the recipe and used 2 cans of pinto beans instead of just one. This recipe came out very well and the people eating it even favorably remarked that they didn't have to add any hot sauce to spice it up. I served it with shredded cheddar cheese, extra chopped onion and jalapeno cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I personally loved this chili recipe. I had a chili cook off in my Family and Consumer Science class and won first place for best taste. I plan on cooking it again at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
The heat was perfect. I couldn't find all the peppers but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was delicious and hot. Really meaty, really hot, and really tangy. I think too much barbeque sauce was called for. The recipe called for 1 bottle of barbeque sauce when I think 1/2 a bottle would suffice. Once again, this was delicious. Well worth the trouble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was a great chili recipe. I buy locally and lucked into the last of pepper season. I could not match all of the varieties so I made sure that I matched the quantity. Usually chili really improves the second day but this was terrific immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Everytime I make this I get request for the recipe. Yohoo babe......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Excellent chili. I used homemade BBQ sauce made with Old Grandad 114 bourbaon for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwc

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This chili is delicious...if you like a zip and snap to your food, then this is for you...chili with a real bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cadyville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States