'Day Before Payday' Kielbasa and Corn Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
The first time I made this for my family, their faces weren't convinced. The first bite changed their minds! This is definitely a staple, and we don't wait until the end of the month to make it! I don't use the frozen corn w onions/peppers, I substitute fresh onion, green pepper, and whatever corn I have on hand - either canned or frozen. This is sooo yummy, especially with the crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
We've made this recipe a lot! It's one recipe everyone in our family will agree on. We don't like bell peppers, but zucchini and yellow squash work great as substitutes for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeqJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
First this recipe gets points for being so easy and filling, second it lends itself well to substitutions. I cooked the seasoned frozen hash brown potatoes to crispy first and removed them - then used the same pan to saute the sausage (Cheddar and Jalapeno flavor) with onions, adding some previously frozen summer corn and red and yellow chopped peppers (I'm not a big fan of green peppers). Another plus with this was that I could do it early in the day, refrigerate the sausage mixture in the pan, and when dinner hour rolled around I just added the potatoes back in while heating. Definitely the sunny side up eggs were a plus! We'll do this again - thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I was off early today, so I wanted to make a nice mid-week dinner for me and my girlfriend. We really loved this! Her words were "Good old-fashioned comfort food". It was great! Thank you! I will be making it again. Probably in my dutch oven out camping too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
My mom just tried this recipe tonight (10/21/14), it was pretty good! She didn't put the egg on top, but it still good. She substituted green peppers and onion in place of the stir fry and used a Southwestern style corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This was a great, fun dish to make ! I had everything in my pantry to make it, except for the eggs and I went to get them quick! I really enjoyed it. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I also started making this dish many years ago when grocery money just didn't stretch from payday to payday. Back then kielbasa was one of the cheapest meats you could buy and it was very tasty. Hamburger was 89 cents a lb and they hadn't told us yet arteries would clog from too much bacon fat. Gee...I'm old as dirt...lol Anyway we still make this dish once every month or two for dinner. Only difference. I use lean turkey kielbasa and we call it comfort food. This recipe is very tasty as written and I suggest you try it exactly as written if you keep frozen onions and peppers on hand. To me, it tastes so much better, and it's cheaper when you use fresh onions and red or green peppers. Saute the onion until it starts to get a little transparent. Add the diced up potato and saute until the potatoes start to brown on the edges. Now throw in the pepper so it doesn't get all soft and mushy from cooking too long. Toss in the kielbasa and saute everything together until the meat is hot and fully cooked. The potatoes should be a nice golden brown. Now top with those yummy fried eggs and...oh my, how good. Bravo FoodieGeek...this was a wonderful comfort food recipe to post!!! Your way or my way with the onions and peppers, it's sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Simple dish with basic ingredients that is easy to prepare. A great weeknight dish. It got two thumbs up from my picky husband and daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Campbell
Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
delicious! in my recipe box already, had to brown the potatoes first, and then add the keibasa, I also used fresh peppers and onions and frozen corn and adjusted cooking times as such, but the recipe was a great inspiration and the eggs make it great. I did not use all that oil, as i poached the eggs, also used low fat turkey keibasa :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brocton, New York, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Extremely easy recipe! Would be great for a first time cook to make. Most of the work is in the prep so have everything chopped and ready to go in advance and you'll be good to go. I diced two carrots as well while I put the kielbasa in first for a head start as I wanted it to brown up more. It definitely needed to cook longer than the 10 minutes in order to brown, but was perfect as is. So glad I found this super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States