Day Before Pay Day Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My family loved it. I used left over brown rice from the take out Chinese food from a few days before. I used coconut oil to "stir fry" the rice. I used corn instead of peas and added left over green beans. I didn't have green onions so I used a packet of onion soup and added a small amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Easy and good. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I've made this recipe a few times now, and after the initial try, I modified it a bit each time. I find that this is a good "base recipe" that really begs for individual customization according to one's taste. In my case, I first fried up the vegetables in sesame oil, for authentic Chinese flavor. I then proceeded with the rest of the steps, substituting teriyaki sauce for the soy sauce, to give it a little sweetness. I, too, added some Chinese Five Spice blend to it, and didn't bother covering and steaming the rice, either. I've used different types of meat each time. One VERY important detail to ensure the success of this dish is to use COLD rice! Using just-made or warmed rice will result in an unappetizing, sticky blob. I got this tip from a Chinese friend, and it has proven true every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
So easy and so good! I followed the suggestion of another reader and used Sesame oil. That really made a difference! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Good base recipe. I made quite a few changes after the first time I cooked it. I first sauteed vegetables in butter/sesame oil: sweet chopped onion (I didn't have green onions), grated ginger root, minced garlic, chopped red bell pepper, and bok choy along with the mushrooms, carrots, and celery. I then added thinly sliced sauteed pork, the scrambled eggs, soy sauce and the rice just long enough to heat through. I also added chili paste as one reader suggested to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
this was really good.. i didn't make the whole thing.. just wanted an asian side for our dinner.. so i left out the eggs and chicken.. doubled the amount of carrot.. huge note to use real soy.. i had the light kind and kept feeling like something was missing.. dumped a couple of packets of soy sauce (the kind you get at the fast food places) and it totally turned this around.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was pretty good. I used sesame oil to give it more flavor. I used broccoli instead of peas, left out the chicken, and added garlic. It does need more soy sauce, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Rice was bland. A good start but needed more flavor. I add chopped garlic, some fresh ginger. Diced red pepper, and some sesame oil. Used day old rice which tends to wwork better with fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicious! I used White and Brown rice and added leftover corn on the cob. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States