Day Before Pay Day Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was a lifesaver tonight and one hubs and I both really enjoyed! This wasn't a day before pay day issue, just an "I don't feel like going to the store issue" and I was happy to find a side dish with common ingredients readily at hand. I stir fried the celery and carrot separately in sesame oil before adding the rice (no need at all to cover and steam) and added shrimp rather than chicken since that's what was around. No green onions, but chopped fresh chives from the garden was a perfect substitute. To make this more authentic, I cooked the egg separately in a small saute pan like a crepe, then added it chiffonade style. (Roll the "egg crepe" up like a cigar, then slice into ribbons...then add to rice mixture just before serving) I added a touch of toasted sesame oil for additional flavor, along with a little butter. Even using ingredients with basic, on hand ingredients this turned out to be a beautiful and delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was an easy recipe that really is great to use up leftovers with! My husband prefers it to be made "teriyaki" flavored - you can buy it, or easily make it by whisking your soy sauce (low sodium *tastes* best) with some brown sugar and a little vegetable oil. Or in a pinch, white sugar and no oil! This recipe is easy no matter how you twist it. =) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon :)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Easy, cheap & satisfying! I used pork rather than chicken, cooked the egg in butter rather than oil for extra flavor, and added about 1 1/2 tsp. five spice. Very good! Thank you CJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This recipe was awesome! Tasted very authentic to me & my hubby! The only thing I changed was I omitted the peas and added mushrooms instead. YUMMY, what a winner! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Simple, quick, and delicious base recipe. I followed the suggestions of some previous reviews: 1) scrambled eggs in 1tbsp butter, 2) used sesame oil, 3) stir-fried 4 cloves garlic and half a roughly chopped onion in the oil before adding the rice. To suit my personal tastes I added half a tbsp. red chili paste when adding the soy sauce and about 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro the last 15 seconds of stir-frying. Will most definitely make again soon. *also, used Slow-Cooker Turkey Breast from this site instead of chicken because that happened to be the leftovers I had on hand* Thanks CJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I now use this every time i order-in Chinese as the white rice is always left over, and is usually exactly 3 C. I used toasted sesame oil for added flavor, and cubed boneless skinless chicken thighs to keep it from being dry (this increases the cooking time). Everyone i have served this loves it -- i suggest a little Tamari poured on when re-heating :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight and followed the recipe. The rice was in no way similar to any fried rice I have ever eaten. The rice was beyond bland and had no flavor at all. Sorry this was just awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Great!! The only change I made was to use 2 eggs and 1/4 cup egg beaters. I cooked the eggs into thin omelets and cut them into ribbons. Also added a little seasame oil before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
delicious. I changed a few things myself. I added cashews, pineapple and shrimp...very flavorful. I also through in a little bit of sesame seed oil. Everything turned out wonderful and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristinaHoward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is a great recipe and easy to make. My whole family enjoyed it. I now make it in large batches and keep it in the fridge for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States