Day Before Pay Day Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I first tried this a few months ago. Now it's in our regular rotation, I make it at least once a month. I make it pretty much as specified, though I do buy a frozen pea/carrot mix to make it faster. I can cook the chicken ahead and freeze it. With precooked chicken and frozen veggies, I can have dinner on the table in about 10 minutes, which is a must with 3 kids and full time jobs. I've also subbed other veggies when needed, and I even made it without the chicken once. Still a great recipe. And if you run out of soy sauce, the homemade soy sauce recipe works very well. I use jasmine rice, which is a good quality slow-cook rice. We eat rice several times a week so I almost always have some in the fridge. This recipe does work better with cold rice as specified, but I've made it with hot rice, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
My son and I enjoyed this recipe. This was my first time making fried rice, and it turned out great! Will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Meh. This was just so-so - but I think it can be MUCH better after sitting in the fridge overnight. My husband was gifted with a new wok for Christmas. He made tonight's main dish and I made fried rice to serve on the side. As with most new recipes I try, I made a few changes, one out of necessity and a couple due to personal preference. I ommitted the chicken alltogether (didn't have any leftover meat on hand), used half sesame / half veggie oil and subbed a frozen pea & carrot blend for fresh carrots & frozen peas. I also stir-fried my rice on high heat for a considerable amount of time in an attempt to dry it out a bit (this is my main gripe and why I think overnight refrigeration would help - authentic rice is not as moist as this was). As for my eggs, I did not bother cooking them in a separate saute pan "chiffonade" style. I just scrambled them in my wok, chopped coarsley, removed to a bowl to cool and then added to my rice as directed. All in all, this is an OK rice, perfect for using up leftovers or when you have a craving for the restaurant stuff but no money for it. Thanks for sharing, CJ. This was not bad at all. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Super easy & yummy! I omitted the celery (we aren't fans) and used frozen mixed veggies instead of just peas. Add some hot crusty bread and canned peaches and you've got a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2psnapod1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight and followed the recipe. The rice was in no way similar to any fried rice I have ever eaten. The rice was beyond bland and had no flavor at all. Sorry this was just awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
A huge success at our house! I followed the hints of another cook, adding cashews and a little sesame oil. I also cooked the rice in chicken stock. Delicious and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Great!! The only change I made was to use 2 eggs and 1/4 cup egg beaters. I cooked the eggs into thin omelets and cut them into ribbons. Also added a little seasame oil before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I made this and it was fine for a quick dinner. No problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I use this recipe (with a few modificatons for it to blend well with a beef stir fry recipe on here) to create a fried rice for brocolli beef. It serves my purpose well and am glad you shared. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I love to make this with Shrimp. Actually that is the cool part about this recipe! You can make it with almost any protein and veggie combo that you have lying around:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States