Day Before Pay Day Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was ok.....a little bland. Made it as the recipe is written but might try a little more soy sauce if I try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I first tried this a few months ago. Now it's in our regular rotation, I make it at least once a month. I make it pretty much as specified, though I do buy a frozen pea/carrot mix to make it faster. I can cook the chicken ahead and freeze it. With precooked chicken and frozen veggies, I can have dinner on the table in about 10 minutes, which is a must with 3 kids and full time jobs. I've also subbed other veggies when needed, and I even made it without the chicken once. Still a great recipe. And if you run out of soy sauce, the homemade soy sauce recipe works very well. I use jasmine rice, which is a good quality slow-cook rice. We eat rice several times a week so I almost always have some in the fridge. This recipe does work better with cold rice as specified, but I've made it with hot rice, too. (Side note...we had a Chinese exchange student live with us for a summer. I made this once and she cried because it smelled just like her mom's. I doubt it tasted quite the same, but she loved it and had it for lunch every day that week.)_
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
My son and I enjoyed this recipe. This was my first time making fried rice, and it turned out great! Will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Meh. This was just so-so - but I think it can be MUCH better after sitting in the fridge overnight. My husband was gifted with a new wok for Christmas. He made tonight's main dish and I made fried rice to serve on the side. As with most new recipes I try, I made a few changes, one out of necessity and a couple due to personal preference. I ommitted the chicken alltogether (didn't have any leftover meat on hand), used half sesame / half veggie oil and subbed a frozen pea & carrot blend for fresh carrots & frozen peas. I also stir-fried my rice on high heat for a considerable amount of time in an attempt to dry it out a bit (this is my main gripe and why I think overnight refrigeration would help - authentic rice is not as moist as this was). As for my eggs, I did not bother cooking them in a separate saute pan "chiffonade" style. I just scrambled them in my wok, chopped coarsley, removed to a bowl to cool and then added to my rice as directed. All in all, this is an OK rice, perfect for using up leftovers or when you have a craving for the restaurant stuff but no money for it. Thanks for sharing, CJ. This was not bad at all. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Super easy & yummy! I omitted the celery (we aren't fans) and used frozen mixed veggies instead of just peas. Add some hot crusty bread and canned peaches and you've got a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2psnapod1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight and followed the recipe. The rice was in no way similar to any fried rice I have ever eaten. The rice was beyond bland and had no flavor at all. Sorry this was just awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
A huge success at our house! I followed the hints of another cook, adding cashews and a little sesame oil. I also cooked the rice in chicken stock. Delicious and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Great!! The only change I made was to use 2 eggs and 1/4 cup egg beaters. I cooked the eggs into thin omelets and cut them into ribbons. Also added a little seasame oil before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I made this and it was fine for a quick dinner. No problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I use this recipe (with a few modificatons for it to blend well with a beef stir fry recipe on here) to create a fried rice for brocolli beef. It serves my purpose well and am glad you shared. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States