Day Before Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I've made this recipe several times since my initial review two years ago. As I was printing off the recipe for this Christmas prep, I read some of the more recent comments, and decided to add what I've learned in the past couple years: there's a big difference between doing it the day before vs the same day. When made the day before, it's stiffer and the sour cream and garlic (if you add that, as I do) are twice as strong. Much too strong, in my opinion. And you will need to re-mash with milk and butter to fluff it up, which means you lose half the benefit of doing it ahead of time. I HIGHLY recommend doing it only a few hours before (3 or 4 has been just right, for me) and then putting it in a slow cooker on low until dinner. The flavor is prefect and it's still fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1037 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I use a recipe almost identical to this, but I put the potatoes in a crockpot sprayed with Pam and put it in the fridge overnight. The next day, you need to plug it in well ahead of time, but the oven is open for whatever else needs baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
613 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This recipe was a huge hit at my potluck party! Everyone complimented on the dish, moreso than the entree (that person wasn't too thrilled that I one up-ed him). I used suggestions from others' reviews. Here's my variation on the recipe: I used yukon gold potatoes, onion & chives cream cheese, and garlic salt instead on onion salt. Followed recipe as stated, but prior to baking I used 1/2 cup of whipping cream and butter to moisten the potatoes. Mixed in some bacon bits and cheddard cheese. Topped off with bacon bits and cheddar cheese before baking. The end result...my dish was completely empty and still had people begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
383 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SiSi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
These turned out great! The only thing I changed was to put them in the crock pot for about 2.5 hours before company came over so I could save space in my oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This has been my 'signature' recipe for our mashed potatoes since Thanksgiving 2002!! I always get raves about them. My husband won't let me make our mashed potatoes any other way, because he says, 'nothing compares'! The 'signature' really boils down to the cream cheese, because many mashed potato recipes are made with the other ingredients, but the cream cheese really sets these apart from all others! However, I do make it slightly different from what the recipe calls for. I also add a little skim milk to it, as well as use fat-free cream cheese and sour cream, and interchange using onion powder one time and garlic powder the next, just for variety. And, of course, the measurements of the ingredients are never the same each time, so I put a little in of everything until it's just right, smooth and creamy. I've never made these potatoes the 'day before', but serve right away. However, I always make enough for leftovers and they're delicious cold or hot the next day! Give these a try, you won't be disappointed! :) Thank you so much, Erin, for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
I know this recipe as twice baked potatoes...and it is WONDERFUL!!! I have made these potatoes for years and my family always demands it at all occasions. I do a few things different though. Instead of baking next day...I put the potatoes into a crock pot and slice a 1/4 stick butter onto the top and refrigerate until Thanksgiving morning...cover and cook on high till heated threw. Saves on oven space. I also mix in (to taste) fresh green onions...adds color to the dish and a wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
After reviewing most of the comments, I made a couple of changes: Instead of plain cream cheese, I used cream cheese with chives & onion. I also added roasted garlic. These mashed potatoes are wonderful! Creamy & rich, just like at restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Delicious and creamy. I even used light sour cream and light cream cheese. Also used Yukon Gold potatoes because I think they are better for mashing (not so dry). Such a great way to make mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I've been making these potatoes for a few years now and they are fantastic! I pat butter all over the top before I refrigerate. Also, prior to baking, I poke holes in the top with a fork and pour a bit of milk over them. I wait until the milk has absorbed before baking. Sometimes I add cheese too. How can you go wrong with cheese? lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This is awesome! It is similar to other potato recipes I have found on this site BUT STILL EXCELLENT! To make it "different," I used cream cheese with chives. Yum good, easy and can't wait to make for the upcoming holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 854) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States