Day Before Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These were the hands-down favorite at my thanksgiving dinner. Someone else mentioned they tasted like sour cream and onion chips, and I agree they do... But they are scrumptious! I tossed them in the crock pot the night before and heated them up a couple hours before dinner... Turned out super creamy. They are on the menu again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarSpeckled

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cornish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Never again, right before dinner these were finished and took more work then if made real time. Took lots of extras to make them servable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Made these for my first Thanksgiving meal and they were GREAT, everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Worked out great for Thanksgiving to make day ahead and then I put them in a crockpot next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Made these for Thanksgiving this yr. My goal was to do as little cooking on Thurs. as possible, so I made these ahead of time, put into slow cooker with a liner(after step 2). and froze in crock pan (after a few hrs. took pan out of freezer so potatoes were frozen to fit in crock) Thursday morning I put potatoes w/liner in pot and plugged it in, then forgot about it, till serving time. No need to add milk or pam or anything. The family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azwaterwitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Morgan, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Who what of thought in a crockpot! Well, at least I didn't and this saved my thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
so delicious! Comfort food at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I took reviewer's suggestion and made these the morning of Thanksgiving and put them in a crockpot on low until mealtime. They came out PERFECT - creamy, yummy, good! I used whipped cream cheese because that's all I had, and glad I did since it made mixing into the taters even easier. Only other changes: I added a splash of half & half and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Delicious! My guests couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisbhs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I had to add a lot of garlic to these potatoes, but they turned out pretty well. It was fabulous to be able to make them the night before, and in the slow cooker, to free up time and space on Thanksgiving Day (oh yeah, instead of oven baking them I just put the in the slow cooker on high for about 3 or 4 hours). I did have to add some milk because they were tough without it. I have definitely had better mashed potatoes, but for time and space considerations, this recipe was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 854) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States