Day Before Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I took reviewer's suggestion and made these the morning of Thanksgiving and put them in a crockpot on low until mealtime. They came out PERFECT - creamy, yummy, good! I used whipped cream cheese because that's all I had, and glad I did since it made mixing into the taters even easier. Only other changes: I added a splash of half & half and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Delicious! My guests couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisbhs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I had to add a lot of garlic to these potatoes, but they turned out pretty well. It was fabulous to be able to make them the night before, and in the slow cooker, to free up time and space on Thanksgiving Day (oh yeah, instead of oven baking them I just put the in the slow cooker on high for about 3 or 4 hours). I did have to add some milk because they were tough without it. I have definitely had better mashed potatoes, but for time and space considerations, this recipe was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I have to say, these were a huge hit! I did make them the day before and re-heated for Thanksgiving and they were perfect and yummy. I did use the onion and chive cream cheese as others suggested and I did cook bacon and crumble it in the potatoes as well. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnLeeW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA
Living In: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These potatoes were very tasty. Made Thanksgiving easier since I could do them the day in advance. I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These came out really well. Alex in particular thinks they're great! I added several cloves of garlic to the potatoes as they were boiling, just as I usually do...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
5stars for less stress making them the day before. 2-stars for taste. These are way to rich. My family could hardly eat them. Never again will i put cream cheese and sour cream in mashed potatoes. Back to the tradional way and i still will make the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These were very tasty, my husban added a little milk because they were on the stiff side. The taste was great even without the onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Too salty for me. I ended up having to mash a few extra potatoes to cut the salt. Otherwise I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liesel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Soooo helpful for me since I have found this. Just removing one item the day of Thanksgiving buys me so much more time. I do not detect any difference thatn the potatoes I have been making for the years prior. (I still add minced garlic and extra sour cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States