Day Before Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
These were OK. I made them the day before, as the recipe suggested and I snuck a little taste test. They were great! The next day I put them in the oven, and they were a little dry. You can definitely taste the sour cream. I will make these again with some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrawfordMomof2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I took one reviewers advice and didn't make this the day before. Instead I made them ahead of the turkey, without the last minute rush, and was able to put them in the oven to re-heat while the turkey rested. They were absolutely delicious! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I've been making these for several years and they're always a hit. No need for gravy...it's kind of gilding the lily! My sister-in-law calls them "Naughty Potatoes" LOL. I like to use ground white pepper and instead of the garlic powder, I use fresh garlic cloves that I microwave with a little butter until they're soft then mash it well. These are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twila Davis Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
So disappointed. I usually make all five star recipes off of all recipes com with great success. Not this time. When it called for 2 teaspoons of onion powder I hesitated on the second teaspoon thinking that sounded like an awful lot. But I'm a firm believer in respecting the recipe as it is written and follow it the first time to a T. so I went ahead and added the 2 teaspoons. When I got it all together And had my first taste all I could taste with the overpowering taste of the onion powder I didn't even read the reviews like I usually do because I've had so much success with making delicious food off of the five star recipes. That was another mistake I should've read the reviews first. I also found it very very dry so I'm going to make my good old mashed taters for thanksgiving tomorrow. I also discovered that it wouldn't be good recipe to use for the holidays because I will already have a turkey in the oven or rolls or something else so I need to make them on the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie Ellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I wanted to sample this dish prior to serving, and boy was I thrilled on how great and wonderful it turned out! My husband absolutely loved them, and I am real excited to add this along with a few of my side dishes for this Thanksgiving! Thanks Erin for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Yum! I didn't have cream cheese so used a bit of milk to add moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Great way to make potatoes ahead of time. Are kinda stiff, maybe add more milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by itsalexjean
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this today, it was delicious! I didn't do the whole next day step, but I did leave it in the refrigerator before I baked it. I also didn't have any onion powder, so I substituted it with a dash of lemon pepper. It came out great! I cannot wait to use this recipe for my very 1st thanksgiving dinner. Thank you so much for sharing this very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe so many times. My sons and I absolutely love them. The only change I make is to not add the onion powder. So easy to make them the day before our Sunday family dinner or Thanksgiving and Christmas. I actually heat them up in the microwave. My oldest son called me for the recipe and I told him to go to Allrecipes.com type in the name and just omit the onion. I think he has now become hooked on All recipes. LOVE THESE POTATOES!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
a have been making these for many many years. I use 1 t. garlic salt is the only seasoning. Along with the cream cheese and sour cream, I don't think they need the butter. I've experimented through the years with crumbled bacon, chopped green onions and cheddar or mozzarella cheese. I just like it without any of those. The problem with this dish is it's not good with gravy. A holiday meal like Thanksgiving, just seems like you should have mashed potatoes and gravy with the turkey. But these are awesome with ham, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 858) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States