Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
The flavor is OK but the consistency is that of a rice casserole. I thought two cups of rice was a lot. Maybe I did something wrong. (I don't think so.) I followed the recipe except that I didn't have any sage (but my dressing had a lot), and I forgot to add the peas. I didn't follow the methods as I didn't want to cook my fresh veggies for an hour and a half, which can render them essentially flavorless, not to mention mushy. I cooked the turkey bones and broth; removed the bones, strained the broth, then addeded the stuffing, veggies, and rice. Anyway, the idea of using stuffing and rice is a novel use of leftover stuffing and does taste good. If I try this recipe again, I would not use (canned) chicken broth due to the high sodium content, and because simmering the turkey bones is basically making stock anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this soup this morning and we just had it for lunch. I followed the recipe exactly except for the peas (didn't have any on hand) but next time will be sure to add those. This soup is so great!! Everyone loves it and several people had seconds - the flavors are excellent and we really like how the stuffing adds another dimension to the soup. Definitely a keeper - next time I'll probably cut back on the rice by about 1/2 cup - the proportion of rice to other ingredients was a little heavy. Thanks for an awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
my mother made this soup every year for 40+ years, only change instead of chicken broth, water and carcess make an excellent broth, and add the leftover gravy! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This soup was great; kids ages 7 & 9 loved it, so did husband. This made about 12 servings, so I'll have some to freeze. I took another reviewer's suggestion and roasted the turkey bones at 400F, turning every 15 mins until they browned. The cornbread dressing added a nice texture. I had brined my turkey and then roasted it the following inside: 1 sliced red apple, 1/2 of an onion (sliced), 2 tsp poultry seasoning, 2 tsp sage, 1 tbsp rosemary, and a cinnamon stick. The spices gave the broth a wonderful flavor. I also added 1/2 package wide egg noodles during the last 15 mins of cooking. I will keep this recipe with my Thanksgiving collection and make it again at Christmas. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I just made this soup but didn't have any stuffing. I'm sure it would have been better with the stuffing but it was still great with lots of taste! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I used mostly water instead of chicken stock but added some of the leftover gravy to thicken it up. Fantastic. My family is still talking about it from last year and are looking forward to me making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Between the poultry seasoning and the stuffing, there was way too much depth of flavor going on here for our tastes. I'll be looking for another recipe next year. Thank you anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made this recipe tonight and it turned out fabulous!! I added a potato cut up into small pieces, and I did not add the peas (only because i do not like them). I did not have chicken broth so I used bouillon cubes 1/2 chicken and 1/2 beef. Those were the only modifications I made. I will definitely make it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This soup is absolutely fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly as written. My guess is that those who said the soup had too much rice in it did not add enough water to the pot. After adding 10 cups of chicken stock (2 1/2 quarts), I probably had to add at least that same amount of water, if not more, in order to cover the turkey carcass. This recipe will be my new day-after-Thanksgiving recipe every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This soup is very easy to make and is delicious. We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States