Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Followed this recipe exactly except for cutting back to 1 1/2 cups rice based on others' comments. At first I thought I should have kept it at 2 cups because it was very brothy but as it sat to cool down it thickened up quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Not happy with the way it turned out. It was pretty mushy and not too much flavor. I won't make again. Others may like it, it just isn't for me. Glad I tried it though...now I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Really good! Added the left over gravy to the pot. Kids liked it and hubby said that it was the best day after meal he had ever had :). It is really thick but really cheap and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is very similar to Better Homes & Gardens Turkey Frame Soup. Here's the thing with soup...it doesn't have to be exact. Use what you have and what you like! I usually have a >20lb turkey so I break up the carcass to fit it into the pot more easily. Otherwise this is a great way to finish up the leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Good idea, putting left over dressing into the soup. I used a blend of long grain brown and wild rice and also added frozen corn. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I didn't have the carcass, but added cut up turkey. Used chicken boullion cubes, didn't have bay leaves, peas or poultry seasoning. I did add some leftover gravy. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I used a combination of broth from cooking the turkey and low sodium chicken broth. I also cut down on the rice. I find that rice makes soup too stickey so I add cooked rice as it is served. I put parsnips in mine. Have made turkey soup like this for years. Waste not, want not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I love this soup! Have made after the day after Thanksgiving three years in a row and I look forward to it as much as Thanksgiving dinner. The dressing absolutely makes the soup. I add twice as much stuffing as the recipe calls for adding half at the start and the remainder rice. I also strain the soup after removing the carcass because I don't like all those little bits of carcass that are sometimes left behind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
awesome recipe not so appetizing title. The only thing I will change next time is the amount of rice. I think maybe one cup will be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
We have made this for several years, but we also add leftover mashed potatoes and replace the rice with egg noodles. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States