Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
The picture looks great, but is clearly noodles not rice. Is this the correct recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I have made turkey soup this way for years with a few changes; I use whole wheat egg noodles instead of rice and if there are any mashed potatoes left over, add them to the mix. They thicken the soup a bit to a creamier consistency. (If there are no mashed potatoes left over, throw in a 1/2 cup or so of instant mashed potatoes!) I also add a can of cream soup, mushroom or celery are best. This is our favorite "after Thanksgiving" meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by odetobeauty
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Just got done eating a bowl of this. It is alright. I did not have rice so I just threw in the bag of egg noodles I had and skipped the peas. I'm not sure about putting stuffing it in, I had to scoop out so bread clumps. With the right amount of salt and pepper it is decent. The boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odetobeauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I thought this was intriguing with the addition of stuffing to it. It does give the broth a much heartier consistency. I followed the recipe for the most part. I only added a teaspoon of poultry seasoning an I wish I had headed someone's advice to add only one cup of rice. I used 1 1/2 cups and it was just a bit much. I added more chicken stock. But, all and all, I woul make this again next year. I have (6) 2 pound deli containers for the freezer and enough for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
After two attempts of turkey soup, I figured I try this one. The only thing I did not add was the poultry seasoning because of the review I read. My husband commented how good it was twice while watching TV. To me that is success. He said keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was the easiest soup I have ever made. Followed the dirction pretty much to the tee, only thing is I did not put in all the stuffing it called for. I put all kinds of vegtable in. Thank you for posting this it was great and a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Excellent recipe! Also added some leftover flour free gravy I made from turkey's original pan drippings and root vegetables, all pureed with immersion blender. Thickened the soup up a bit and gave it great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe is a classic. I think we have all made something like this. When I make this, instead of rice I add egg noodes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
My husband actually made this instead of me, and it was amazing!!!! Usually we don't even attempt to make turkey soup as his grandmother makes an amazing one. But when he made this one, I can't believe how close it tasted to hers...gues we'll be making our own from now on instead of asking her to make it! Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I loved the soup but 2 cups of rice makes it very thick unless you add some additional water or chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States