Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is a great base recipe. I added a lot more variety with my vegetables and used a wild/longrain rice combo. I did have some trouble getting all the bones, but I suppose that comes with the territory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was wonderful! I think many times turkey soup can be somewhat boring, but not this one. After reading the other reviewer comments, I put about 1-1/3 cups of rice in. It was more than plenty. As the soup sits the rice just keeps absorbing the liquid. I may cut back to 1 cup next time. The flavors were terrific and I liked the "stew" consistency. I will definitely make this again. Perfect for cold winter days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Excellent soup. Followed everything except I ddnt use the rice. Would make again. Even my grandchildren loved it. Vegatables and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Absolutely yummy, but with following changes: Decrease rice by 1/2 cup, add veggies and stuffing AFTER you remove the carcass and bones, and I increase the celery & carrots since we like alot. Yes you will likely add water to cook the carcass, so recipe makes alot. Stuffing is great addition, thanks for sharing. This is my go-to soup each time I have a turkey carcass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Just made this Thanksgiving afternoon and was easy and fun to make. We did take a previous reviewers advice and cut back on the amount of rice by 1/2 cup and glad we did as the rice continues to soak up liquid. We also used only half the amount of chicken broth and added more water to let the carcass provide stock for us without the added salt in prepared chicken broth. Savory worked quite well in place of sage. 5 year old and wife alike loved it as much as I did! A keeper ~ Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProduceMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conklin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is by far the best turkey soup ever!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
As some of the other reviewers mentioned, the soup ends up being much more like a casserole with 2 cups of rice. I personally enjoy the consistency, but was definitely surprised as the soup got thicker and thicker. I am relatively new to the kitchen, so having a simple to follow recipe was appreciated. And it turned out great! I look forward to making this again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This is pretty good. I didn't have stuffing on hand, so I just used a little extra rice. Speaking of rice, this recipe calls for a lot of it. This makes a very filling, budget-friendly recipe but because I'm just cooking for two I definitely would cut the recipe in half next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
DELICIOUS!!! I used more water than chicken broth, so I added a couple of heaping tablespoons of chicken boullion granules. I also used orzo pasta instead of rice, which made it more stew-like in it's consistency. Serve with warm sour dough bread, it's wonderful on a cold, winter day. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I LOVE this recipe, and the fact the I can use my leftover dressing in it, too!! I freeze my turkey carcass until I'm ready to make the soup because I usually don't get around to making it for about a week after Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner. Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States