Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe is a classic. I think we have all made something like this. When I make this, instead of rice I add egg noodes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
My husband actually made this instead of me, and it was amazing!!!! Usually we don't even attempt to make turkey soup as his grandmother makes an amazing one. But when he made this one, I can't believe how close it tasted to hers...gues we'll be making our own from now on instead of asking her to make it! Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I loved the soup but 2 cups of rice makes it very thick unless you add some additional water or chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was the best turkey soup I've ever made. The difference: the addition of the leftover stuffing, which I would never have considered. I was a little leery of what it might do to the texture, but it was totally fine, no mushiness or soggy bread texture. The only changes I made were to leave out the poultry seasoning and sage, as I felt the stuffing would provide the needed flavors, and it did. It was really delicious, and I will definitely make it whenever I have the opportunity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Awesome recipe for using up your leftovers after a holiday! Instead of adding chicken broth, I just boiled my turkey carcass for 4-6 hours and ended up with very flavorful broth without the added salt (and expense) of canned chicken broth. The huge amount of flavor in my broth could be because my turkey was injected with cajun seasoning and fried though! I boiled the carcass the day before I planned to make the soup so I could refrigerate it and skim off some of the fat. I was lucky enough to have a few cups of turkey meat left over that I added to this soup also. I used only about a cup of rice instead of two cups since this has extra carbs from the stuffing and used my leftover green bean casserole and a large can of veg-all instead of the frozen peas for more nutritional value. This recipe is great! Who would have thought to use stuffing in a soup? And since it has stuffing, of course you have to add any leftover gravy that you might have also ;o) This soup smelled heavenly while it cooked. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was so easy and tasty. I had two turkey carcassas & no stuffing, so I used 2 boxes of boxed turkey flavored stuffing mix, followed everything else except for adding leftover gravy, didn't have that on hand. It came out soooo good! Already decided on Turkey for Christmas just to have the excuse to make this soup again!Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammamoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
OMG! Really loved that fact that nothing is wasted after Thanksgiving. I didn't have the carcass so I used the leftover chicken stock I had, also added 4 cups of water to stretch it out. Other than that I followed the recipe and it turned out great! My hubby was very happy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seasonedhandatl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Didn't have time to make this soup the day after Thanksgiving so I froze my turkey carcass until yesterday (1 week after Thanksgiving). I did roast the carcass for about 40 mins. @350 first because brown food tastes best! I made this soup and I used brown rice instead of white rice since that's just like styrofoam so I cooked the soup with the rice for about 1 hour. I did use 3 qts. of home made chicken stock. This was great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
excellent, added left over gravy and stuffing. did not add the poultry seasoning. did not have and did not want it to be salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States