Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I did not follow this recipe exactly, but I liked the general idea. This is what I did: browned my turkey carcass in the oven, then made stock with it, adding water, carrots, celery, onion, peppercorns, bay leaves, whole sage leaves and rosemary sprigs. I strained that and used some of it to make the soup, adding leftover chopped turkey, sauteed chopped onion and celery, carrots and about a cup of leftover stuffing, and I seasoned it with salt, pepper and a little fresh thyme. I don't like rice in soups, so I used ditalini pasta and I used chopped spinach for the peas, adding that in just the last few minutes. REALLY good soup! The stuffing added a lot of flavor, and thickened it up ever so slightly. I thought about adding some cannelini beans, but this soup was plenty hearty as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Was excellent,, I highly recomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmie Zee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
My first time making turkey bone soup, and it's delicious! I skipped the peas because I didn't have any and adjusted the seasonings a bit because I did have to add water. But very happy with the results, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Very good!! I reduced the rice to 1 C. (and still felt overwhelmed by the amount of rice...). I put all of this in my slow cooker and left it on low for about 4 hours. I added a spoonful of leftover pan gravy, and in the end, everyone thought the soup was delicious! Would definitely make this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Only change is that I did not add the stuffing to the soup. I baked to stuffing to crisp it, then added it to the top of the soup before serving it like a crouton. Really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I loved this recipe. I am a first time turkey soup maker and it guided me a lot. I did make a few changes....I changed the rice for pasta and added 3 cups of extra water as I found it too salty. That may be because I don't really measure my salt when I should...but either way turned out great. I added little bit of turkey gravy I had left, like 1/4 of a cup (the easy turkey recipe off this site, also very great) but I won`t look any further for a recipe cause this one does the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I just loved this soup! Easy to prepare. I made instant stuffing, because I didn't have any leftover. Yum! The rice on hand that I had was wild. Served next day at aTailgate party.I re-warmed in a crock pot. Added some additional chicken broth to make a nice consistency . Nets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was day-after-christmas turkey carcass soup for us. I didn't add the celery and we didn't have any leftover stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I've made this a couple of times, omitted the stuffing and used medium size egg noodles instead of the rice - and it always comes out absolutely delicious. The flavor is to die for. My 2 young children LOVE it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Just made this....delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States