Dawn's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I found this recipe about five years ago. I started making these cookies and giving them away. Now people request them. They are so good. I love the fact that one batch makes a ton of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This is a very specific kind of cookie - for most people's taste, it MUST be frosted. It is dense and cake like - without frosting, it is decidedly bland. With the addition of the sweet frosting, it becomes a killer cookie. I actually use a slightly different buttercream frosting, and frost heavily - often adding sprinkles, coconut or other finishing touches. My advice - if you are looking for a traditional "eat it plain" sugar cookie - this is not it. If you're looking for an dense, cakelike base cookie to add a sweet frosting - awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra901

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I was very excited to make these cookies. Everyone said they were "cake like", just what I was looking for. I guess I should have paid more attention to the reviewers comments on the "bland flavor".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This recipe creates very cake-like "cookies;" they're really more like little sponge-cakes. The cookies are also really bland, so frosting is the only thing that adds flavor to them. This is the recipe for you if this is the type of "cookie" you want. It seems like the cake you would use for Boston Cream Pie or a sponge cake filled with strawberries. In fact, I think serving these topped with fresh strawberries and whipped cream would be delicious. If you're going to use these as cookies, I suggest substituting real butter for the shortening to add more flavor and baking them for 12-13 minutes to create a little more of a cookie texture, but they're still going to be little sponge cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
These were more like little cakes than cookies. A bit bland as well. I added melted chocolate to part of the batter to flavor it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
I took these into work and they were a huge hit! Everyone liked how soft they were and how they weren't like the average sugar cookie. Everyone loved the icing too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Sorry, but these cookies were so bland. I can't believe they got such high ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
My kids loved making these cookies!! We love soft cookies and these were perfect. The prep time for us only took about 15 minutes...we used a measuring spoon to scoop the dough...it worked like an ice cream scooper! And we lightly sprayed the cookie sheets instead of using parchment paper. The 1st few batches we made we added sprinkles before baking...the last couple batches we added the icing and then set them in the frige to harden. In less than 2 hours we had all the cookies made and passed out to our neighbors for the Holidays! And they all loved the cookies!!! So thanks so much for a great easy and fast receipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
more like a cake than a cookie but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
I'm not sure what happened...first time i tried to make big cookies and i ended up with a cake...second time i tried small cookies and still got a cake.... did this happen to anyone else? PS the cake was yummy but i wanted sugar cookies! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States