Dawn's Easy Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Delicious, simple, easy to make small adjustments (i.e., swap vanilla in place of bourbon). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Warning: these are so addicting! One of the easiest and quickest recipes. I omitted the bourbon and used store bought frosting. They were delicious as a stand alone cookie or a sandwich. Probably could have used a tiny bit less oil than what was called for. I do have to say that these were only enjoyable the first day of baking. They took on a different flavor after that which I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This recipe was 1. easy and 2. incredible! One of my favorite cookies ever! I must say my version lacks a lot of the things in the original: bourban, coconut and pecans... but I used chocolate chips and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
my friend made these for me and i loved them! my brother ate three at least
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This was good. I used store bought cream cheese frosting, thinned with some Carnation. I added some milk to the cookie batter, which was a mistake since they came out flat. My bad! But this was quick to make and I will try these with different cake mixes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMeier627
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
People were AMAZED at these cookies. I made them a little bigger and sandwhiched them and out green sprinkles on the icing. It was for a Christmas party so they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMeier627

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CooknKel
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Easy & tasty. I made a double batch of cookies & did not double the filling. I had enough filling for all but four sandwiches & those I filled with ice cream instead. A delicious alternative! As others have said, you could easily leave the bourbon out all together. I substituted Chambord & that worked out well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooknKel
Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
instead of making sandwiches, i just frosted each individual cookie. more to share this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Visually attractive & extremely rich cookie. Great for visual impact, but you need a large crowd who will eat them quickly since the icing needs to be refrigerated ... and most folks can only eat one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These sandwich cookies are fantastic! Not only do they taste great, they are very attractive and make a great presentation. I've given them as gifts in clear cellophane bags, tied with ribbon. If you're in a hurry, substitute store bought cream cheese icing for the homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States