Dawn's Easy Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I'm a pretty easy sell on most things. With food, I'm certainly not picky. But there was something about the taste of these cookies that was kinda meh to me. I cut down the oil to 1/3 c. and made the frosting for this recipe and I definitely wasn't crazy about it. I then made the cream cheese frosting from McCormick's Red Velvet Cupcakes recipe on this site which incorporates sour cream and that DEFINITELY amped it up a notch -- really nice tang at the end and sooo much tastier. After I finish off this batch I probably won't make again. **UPDATE** I am upgrading to a 5 after bringing these to a get together last night -- the icing for the Red Velvet Cupcake recipe definitely was a hit, and instead of sandwiching the cookies to make whoopie pies, I just put a thick layer of icing on top of a single cookie and it was delicious! Perhaps there was too much cookie for the icing to balance out the taste. This was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by focaccia9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made these for my Christmas cookie exchange and they were a big hit! I omitted the coconut because not everyone likes it. I drizzled them with white chocolate and they looked really cool. I did find that it was easier to roll in the pecans after I chopped them in the food processor. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE BULANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Easy was just what I needed and my son actually enjoyed assembeling these yummy sandwiches. They really added a lot of color to the cookie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
WOW!!!!!!!!! Thank you for this crazy easy keeper of a recipe. Threw together in about 5 minutes. Baked on parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Delicious, simple, easy to make small adjustments (i.e., swap vanilla in place of bourbon). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Warning: these are so addicting! One of the easiest and quickest recipes. I omitted the bourbon and used store bought frosting. They were delicious as a stand alone cookie or a sandwich. Probably could have used a tiny bit less oil than what was called for. I do have to say that these were only enjoyable the first day of baking. They took on a different flavor after that which I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This recipe was 1. easy and 2. incredible! One of my favorite cookies ever! I must say my version lacks a lot of the things in the original: bourban, coconut and pecans... but I used chocolate chips and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
my friend made these for me and i loved them! my brother ate three at least
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This was good. I used store bought cream cheese frosting, thinned with some Carnation. I added some milk to the cookie batter, which was a mistake since they came out flat. My bad! But this was quick to make and I will try these with different cake mixes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMeier627
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
People were AMAZED at these cookies. I made them a little bigger and sandwhiched them and out green sprinkles on the icing. It was for a Christmas party so they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMeier627

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States