Dawn's Easy Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
PURE AWESOMENESS!!! Great for any occasion or just for a little treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was an excellent recipe! I decided to make it with a box of carrot cake mix and cream cheese frosting. I had to beat people away with sticks! :P THANKS!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Make sure you follow these directions for the cake mix and not the directions on the box, which would make the cookies too soft and cakey! The cream cheese frosting was deeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made these as directed for Christmas- My familly loved them! Since then, I have made them using 4 different kinds of cake mix- they always come out great! Devils food has been the favorite so far, they take a little longer to bake, but come out like soft & fudgey brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkii D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I opted out of the bourbon, coconut and pecans (along with the evaprtated milk). They came out deliscious!! One box does make too many of them expecially when one sandwhich is more then enough for one person. Next time I think I'm going to make them smaller so they don't look too overwhelming and so I'll have more. Other then that, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah Ollberding Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I can't believe I am the only one who thinks they were way too sweet.I even used 1/2 cup less sugar.I should have followed my instincts.They were pretty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TeamSeabron
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Delicious. As much as I hate it when people change everything and review anyway, I'm going to do it. I used chocolate cake mix with a dash of vanilla and made the icing as is-with food coloring, but without the coconut. They were fantastic and team colored for the Superbowl, my team lost, but the cookies were a huge hit-I'm so excited to try them with different mixes-and I think I've got a new go-to cream cheese icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
The cookies came out beautifully. However, the cream filling was tooooo soft. It needs to be stiffer. I haven't used Crisco hard shortening, that's what this filling needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are delicious and beautiful! I left out the bourbon in the mix. I measured my dough with a 1/2 tbsp to make each cookie uniform in size. The cooking time was perfect at 8 minutes for my oven. I did not add evaporated milk, coconut or nuts to the icing. These need to be refrigerated. They taste better if you let them get to room temperature before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
giving 5 stars cuz so yummy! but just a recommendation...cook a min longer so middles not so mushy:) great recipe! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA MADISON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States