Dawn's Easy Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Made these yesterday for a potluck with RAVED reviews. One friend who doesn't eat much literally scarfed 3 of these within 5 mins. I reduced the powered sugar for the icing to 2 cups b/c the red velvet cookies themselves were plenty sweet. I agree that walnut sized dough balls were probably a little bit large although no one seemed to complain! I put less of the filling in the cookies (they weren't fluffy or as pretty as the picture on the recipe). I wonder if anyone has actually mixed the nuts inside the icing so it makes the filling mixture look taller inbetween the cookies. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I thought these were fantastic! The only thing I did a little different was the filling - I used sour cream instead of butter and left out the wet ingredients, and we use walnuts on our red velvet so we added some walnuts to the filling before topping with the other cookie- only because we like the flavor but they are prettier just red and white. They are moist - eat them fast before they go bad!{{like thats a problem}} I also used this as a "base", if you will, to make dark chocolate cake cookies with peanut butter filling... yum yum yum ... and now im trying key lime :D I have to say that I like this recipe the best because the batter is not runny and not stiff enough to roll and cut - I use the larger side of a melon baller to scoop a slightly rounded little scoop - it makes the perfect size cookie in my opinion- with such a caloric treat you really dont want these huge cookies so its much easier to watch the cookie intake of myself and my son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I love this recipe and so does everyone else I have made it for! I only made a couple of substitutes, I added melted coconut oil for the vegtable. I used carrot cake mix, and milk chocolate mix. I did in fact for the first trial of making this recipe use red velvet cake mix. Whatever changes you may make, or add to it this recipes is a winner. After I write this review, I am going to make a batch! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimme63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Osos, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
So yummy! I got rave reviews on these from family & friends! I left out the pecans & the coconut just because my family doesn't eat it, these cookies were still fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Super quick and easy! Be careful not to overbake...it is hard to tell with a cookie of this color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Cookie part too sweet. Icing is divine - used on cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Wow... these are amazing! I bake a lot of stuff (and I mean a LOT), but these are serious stand-outs. Everyone raved about them. They're really pretty too, making them a great addition to any cookie tray. The only change I made was to omit the pecans, just because I forgot to buy them. I'll definitely make these again. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These were pretty good & fun for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These were super easy to make. I substituted whole milk for the condensed. The frosting is too sweet, so I would add more butter, cream cheese and less powdered sugar. My children liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.changeofsceneweddings.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
These were made for my husband on Valentine's Day! I was hesitant to make them because they use a cake mix. I've tried the many cake mix cookie recipes out there and have been disappointed by the taste. However, I made these exactly as written, except no pecans. Because of the holiday, I rolled them in red decorating sugar. Bake them as written, leaving them on the cookie sheet for 10 minutes when they are removed from the oven. This will help them set before trying to remove them. Also, don't be tempted to allow them to bake much longer than indicated. I did and burned a few due to the deep red color, it's hard to tell if they are "browned".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States