Dawn's Easy Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I absolutely LOVE red velvet cake so I knew I had to try this recipe lol. I made the cookies last night and they were phenomenal! I added some white chocolate chips to the cookies- delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prattville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made these for our neighbors and I received a call from them after dropping the cookies off- she said she was going crazy out of her mind with how amazing they were. Quick and easy, but oh-so-yummy, I will be making these for Easter tomorrow! Next time I will try making the red velvet from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I made these for a bake sale @ work and boy they went fast! They are absolutely the best cookies you will ever eat. I only made one subsitution. Instead of bourbon, I used buttermilk. This is a must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Everyone LOVED these cookies...they couldn't stop talking about them! Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These were so easy and everyone liked them very much. I did use the cooked icing from another recipe on this site (Red Velvet Cake by Eleanor Johnson) since I consider that the ultimate icing for red velvet anything. Will make again soon - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
SO EXTREMELY YUMMY! i havent even made the icing yet, but i made the cookies with white chocolate chips (and sour cream instead of bourbon) and they are to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I made the cookies and left out the Bourbon completely, they turned out GREAT! I also left out coconut and pecans in the end, but everyone who ate these absolutely loved them! I've already gotten a request to make these again for the holidays. This is a super easy recipe to use with any cake mix/icing combination. I'm going to try others at some point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
so easy! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary LeeAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lchoward
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Delicious! I used a teaspoon of vanilla in place of the bourbon, fat free cream cheese for the icing, and left out the coconut completely. I love these! This frosting is pretty runny- I recommend leaving out the liquid. I have also tried these topped with a cream cheese frosting and pecans rather than as a sandwich, but they're just not as fun (or pretty) that way. I love how the cookie texture is not very cake like - it's super moist and really tastes like a cookie! Can't wait to try this with a carrot cake mix!This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Photo by Debbie S.
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These were a HIT at my office. They were gobbled up in about 30 seconds! I left the bourbon, coconut & pecans out. Next time I may make 1/2 with pecans and 1/2 without. Also, I used regular milk instead of evaporated (just because I didn't want to open a whole can for 2 tsp.) I'm making them again this week! Edited: I tried this around Easter using Carrot Cake mix instead of Red Velvet and they were equally delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States